Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
As written it was too bland. However after making it using the tips from KOliveras comment it was excellent. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the base recipe. It was a good way to get rid of some frozen spinach in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i didn't expect to like this as much as i did. i rated it four stars because as written it seemed a bit bland to me but w/a just a few tweaks it's delicious. I added some garlic powder and sprinkled parmesan cheese into it. just these 2 additions send it over the moon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A quick and easy soup to make with a great flavor. Very kid friendly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great soup. I used unsweetened soy milk, added a cup of chopped onion and more spinach and cut out the chicken bouillon, since I am a vegan. Next time I'll try it with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella M. Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Just made this in about 20 minutes. Fast, easy and delicious. I used a can of chicken broth and mixed in a half onion chopped and the garlic to cook with the spinach. I then put that mixture in the blender to make it smooth. I used 3 cups of skim milk and it turned out very creamy, whisking the butter, flour and milk until almost boiling, but not scalding the milk. Then I poured the blended spinach mixture into the butter, flour, milk mixture, turned off the heat, added some cayenne and celery salt. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Nice recipe! I added a bunch of cilantro which I always add to spinach. I substituted 2 cups of 1/2 & 1/2 for milk and 1 cup of milk, no flour or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was excellent! Next time, I want to blend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Just finished making this for the third time and it is still delicious. Followed other suggestions and sauteed almost a chopped onion and 4 cloves of minced garlic with the butter. Then added the flour and whisked. Used 3 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of 1% milk and 1 cup of heavy cream. Pureed half the batch of soup. Serve with French Baguettes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is an easy, healthy soup. Following the reviews of others, I substituted chicken broth for the water & bouillon cubes, and sauteed chopped onions for the dried minced onions. I used 1% milk, which convinced the health addicts in my family to try it despite "cream" in the recipe title. The soup was a bit bland, so I added garlic powder, a pinch of nutmeg, and topped it with shredded Parmesan cheese and cilantro before serving. It has a different, but addicting taste. You can just feel all the healthful nutrients filling your body with each sip! I served it with cantaloupe slices and red seedless grapes. Pretty, tasty and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is delicious! Even my husband loved it. The first time I made it was with asparagus. I found that it was a little to thick for me. So, today I made it again with spinach and added a little more water and another boullion cube and it was so good. The flavor is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States