Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was sooo GOOD! Coming from a person who doesn't like spinach soup, I LOVED THIS!!! I had to double the recipe, and the only thing I did differently was 1. Use fresh spinach that I chopped ( a whole box. It cooks down nicely.) 2. I did not put anything in the blender. The color was gorgeous. 3. I took the advice of other reviewers an added 1/4 tsp. thyme, and celery seed. l also added a pinch of nutmeg. 4. I used fresh garlic and onion. 5. I used 1 c. of heavy whipping cream. This was so good with garlic bread. Overall, a wonderful meal, that I will be and again this winter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Took the advice of other and added garlic powder. Also added parmensan cheese once the soup was in bowls and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
excellent flavor and easy preparation. My mom is visiting, she is pretty picky and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
just made this for lunch with fresh spinach, was awesome! great change of pace. Try it, you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERSMILE
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This cream of spinach is so delicious and so easy to make! I'm pregnant and trying to incorporate more greens in my diet and this is a great way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ed823
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made some adjustments to the recipe and it is one of the best soups I have ever had- and quite healthy too. I used vegetable broth cubes because I am vegetarian and added it to the spinach with just a little water because spinach boils down so much. It looked like a little so I added some frozen broccoli too. Then I sauteed onion and garlic until it was nearly translucent. I blended both of those together in the blender until it was like a pesto. Then I did the dairy mixture with skim milk and a little cream, added spices of: curry, marquen (like red pepper), black pepper and nutmeg. It is necessary for the soup to have a little kick! I mixed the dairy and spinach mixtures together on the heat and voila! Parmesan would make it perfect, but I didn't have any of it in the house... sooooo good and you would never know how healthy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was very good. I made half the recipe using chicken broth instead of water and bouillon, and fresh, roughly chopped spinach rather than frozen. I used 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream. I also used fresh onion. This was very good and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. But next time I would use my emersion blender to slightly puree the soup making the spinach pieces even smaller. My spinach, although not that large, did tend to stick to the spoon. I think blending it a little would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wow! So rich and creamy! It's hard to stop eating! Changed nothing and loved it...thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent! Made it exactly as written. Used whole milk. Wow, a great tasting recipe as is and also a great cream soup base recipe for adding all kinds of vegetables, cheese, meat, etc. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I used fresh spinach and real onion. Also added a sprinkle of garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and red pepper along with the salt and pepper. So simple, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States