Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Quick & easy. This took less than 10 minutes from start to finish. This is the perfect soup to make for someone that is scared of making soup, doesn't like to chop veggies, the beginner to the expert. I was excited to find this recipe with spinach. Once I started, I realized I had about a third of what the recipe called for. So I improvised by adding frozen broccoli and peas to round out the green. Once heated and added to the roux/milk mix, I used my immersion blender to puree the soup. Outstanding, thick flavor. Even forgetting to add the salt and pepper, I had three bowls of it. I can't think of any improvements needed to this recipe! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rios Morrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This soup is so good. I put tomatoes in it with the spinach. SOO GOOD. I do use whole milk and extra butter as well but I'm sure it would be fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was sooo GOOD! Coming from a person who doesn't like spinach soup, I LOVED THIS!!! I had to double the recipe, and the only thing I did differently was 1. Use fresh spinach that I chopped ( a whole box. It cooks down nicely.) 2. I did not put anything in the blender. The color was gorgeous. 3. I took the advice of other reviewers an added 1/4 tsp. thyme, and celery seed. l also added a pinch of nutmeg. 4. I used fresh garlic and onion. 5. I used 1 c. of heavy whipping cream. This was so good with garlic bread. Overall, a wonderful meal, that I will be and again this winter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Took the advice of other and added garlic powder. Also added parmensan cheese once the soup was in bowls and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
excellent flavor and easy preparation. My mom is visiting, she is pretty picky and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
just made this for lunch with fresh spinach, was awesome! great change of pace. Try it, you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Ricker Lawrence
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This cream of spinach is so delicious and so easy to make! I'm pregnant and trying to incorporate more greens in my diet and this is a great way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ed823
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made some adjustments to the recipe and it is one of the best soups I have ever had- and quite healthy too. I used vegetable broth cubes because I am vegetarian and added it to the spinach with just a little water because spinach boils down so much. It looked like a little so I added some frozen broccoli too. Then I sauteed onion and garlic until it was nearly translucent. I blended both of those together in the blender until it was like a pesto. Then I did the dairy mixture with skim milk and a little cream, added spices of: curry, marquen (like red pepper), black pepper and nutmeg. It is necessary for the soup to have a little kick! I mixed the dairy and spinach mixtures together on the heat and voila! Parmesan would make it perfect, but I didn't have any of it in the house... sooooo good and you would never know how healthy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was very good. I made half the recipe using chicken broth instead of water and bouillon, and fresh, roughly chopped spinach rather than frozen. I used 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream. I also used fresh onion. This was very good and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. But next time I would use my emersion blender to slightly puree the soup making the spinach pieces even smaller. My spinach, although not that large, did tend to stick to the spoon. I think blending it a little would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wow! So rich and creamy! It's hard to stop eating! Changed nothing and loved it...thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States