Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was outstanding. Easy and fast to prepare. I used bouillon cubes with the herbs incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Decent soup... I like that you can adjust the recipe to include different veggies. I blended it with my immersion blender to make it more creamy and less leafy. If I make it again, I'll try some of the suggested upgrades like parmesan or swiss cheese. I put a bit of white rice in there to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I didn't have broth or bulllion so I boiled a celery stalk, half of a bell pepper, garlic cloves and salt with the spinach. Then I grated 1/2 of an onion and sauteed it with the butter before adding the flour. I blended half of the celery stalk with the spinach for extra flavor, discarding the bell pepper. Then some thyme, parsley and salt. Pretty tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made spinach soup from fresh spinach since I saw a recipe on the back of the bag of fresh spinach back in the 90's. That soup was awesome. This recipe is very similar except for the frozen spinach and lack of parmesan cheese. I've tried to copy that recipe since because I figured it would be included on the next bag of spinach I bought, I didn't cut out the recipe. But not so lucky. I know that nutmeg is in the recipe just not how much. I see some people have altered the recipe to include the nutmeg though. Try adding about 3/4 cup or so of parmesan cheese into the soup...you will love it. I do anyway. I've even substituted part mozzarella and part parmesan. Today I used heavy cream because it would get old otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I had a BIG Costco bag of fresh spinach which I wanted to make a dent in so I chopped up about a pound or so. I did this in one pot. I sauteed 1/2 an onion in some EVOO until it began to brown & added 1 clove garlic & a dash of red pepper flakes,added butter to pot and about 3 T flour and cooked for about 2-3 minutes. Added 1 can chicken broth, spinach & cut back to 2 cups 1/2 n 1/2 so it would be thicker. Let is simmer a few minutes until the spinach was soft then went into pot with my immersion blender but left some of the texture...delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
i added fresh onion and garlic when i cooked the spinach. i also used only fresh spinach. when the soup was done i blended half and stirring it all together. i also added 1 tesp cayenne. it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
First, my result looked nothing like the picture, which is very green and almost looks like a puree! Mine is creamy looking with spinach green mottled throughout! I used the recipe with these changes and additions (based somewhat on reviews). I did use bouillon cubes, but added a little garlic powder. I cooked 2 small boxes (10 oz ?) of chopped frozen spinach, and used slightly more than one for the recipe, and all the water, saving back about a drained cup for later use (omelettes perhaps). I sauteed about two TBL of finely minced Vidalia onion in the butter along with just a tad of minced garlic (from a jar). I forgot I had the minced garlic and had already added garlic powder, so I did not want to overdo it. I used only 2 1/2 cups of milk and whisked in 1/2 block (4 oz) of yogurt cream cheese. I did this because I had it on hand, but it was expiring soon, and I thought it might add some depth. It took a while to get the cream cheese whisked in. The results, I thought, were fantastic! The best thing is it has none of those "additives" you see in canned cream soups. I'm glad I did not double the recipe though, as this makes a lot of soup for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Delicious! Simple and fresh and yummy. I used fresh onion, sauteed in the butter before adding the flour (I used gluten-free flour), and my own chicken stock with just a little bit of boullion added. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made a few changes, and in the end didn't like it so much until I added sour cream and then thought it was tasted good to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Had a lot of spinach to use up and this was the perfect solution. I did not add as much flour as they asked for so it would be a little more runny and I added some shredder cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States