Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I liked this recipe. I only made it once, but it seemed a little too soupy. I decided next time I'll probably use half and half suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Excellent soup! Nobody in my family is a big spinach lover, but this was a true hit. Even my 16-month old loved this one! I cut down on butter and only used 1.5 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
A great recipe. I used a 10 oz. package of frozen spinach and substituted fat-free creamer, but otherwise stuck to the recipe, and the flavor was just marvellous. Oh yes, and I used about four cloves of garlic, too. This made great leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The other spinach soup I rated was the wrong one. This is the good one. Substituted a little finely minced onion for the dried. Grated a little nutmeg into it and used chicken broth instead of water & bouillon. This was EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I normally make Creamy Spinach Soup on this site but decided to change off. Even though the ingredients in both are ALMOST identical we much prefer Creamy Spinach Soup - it had more flavor - maybe because it uses real onions and uses half and half instead of milk. I did use 2 cups of milk in this one and 1 cup of heavy cream but it just wasn't quite as good as Creamy Spinach Soup. Only 8 people have reviewed that soup but 8 out of 8 gave it a 5. So if you are health conscious use this one - for a richer version use the other!!! Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Wow this soup is awesome! I made some changes based on other reviews... First I put 1.5 cups of water and 2 veggie bullion cubes in the micro for 5 mins. In the meantime, I melted about a tbs. of butter on the stove, and sauteed half a red onion and 2 garlic cloves, I had to add about a tbs. of water also. Then I added the 1/4cup flour (only had whole wheat, worked fine). It got kind of crumbly but worked fine. When the water and bullion was almost boiling in the micro, I took it out and poured it into the blender with about half a big bag of fresh spinach and blended that up. I wisked in the 3 cups (skim) milk into the pot with the onion/garlic/flour, added fresh gr. pepper, a little salt (the bullion is salty enough)and a couple dashes of nutmeg and paprika. Turned it up high to boil and thicken for a couple minutes, wisking constantly. Then poured in the spinach mixture and that was it. So easy, fast, and good! Wasn't thick, like a creamy soup, but still excellent! Great way to get rid of the extra spinach before it goes bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I have made this recipe a few times, and each time it comes out excellent. The only thing I changed is that I use two bouillon cubes instead of three, as well as two tablespoons butter instead of three, because it tends to be very, very rich otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluemonday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I added some rice to the soup to make it more filling, and it was wonderful. It made enough to share with neighbors and they want the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
It makes a nice soup but just not to the taste buds of my bunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
A really easy, tasty soup. The only thing for me was that personally, there was too much butter. Next time, maybe I'll just add half the amount. Thanks for the great recipe though! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Liao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: Siena, Toscana, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States