Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
A great way to get your veggies! I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon, a 10oz bag of fresh spinach leaves instead of frozen, half of a small/medium yellow onion instead of dried onion, and cornstarch instead of flour, to make it gluten-free. I cooked the spinach whole, but I used a submersion blender to chop up the spinach and onions just before serving. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Steamed frozen broccoli in chicken broth. Sautéed garlic and shallot in butter. Added red pepper flakes. After softened, wisked in whole wheat pastry flour. Poured in chicken broth with broccoli, 2 1/2 cups almond milk, 1/2 cup organic half and half and 1 can of white kidney beans. Liquified with emulsion blender. Salt and pepper. Topped with freshly grated Parmesan. Delicious! Next time I think I may only emulsify half, add some ham or bacon and use olive oil instead of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Mower

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bstoner
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe exact. I did add a dash of garlic powder and garnished with shred mozzarella cheese. My family loved it. Including my 14 month who hates milk and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Loved it! Took on suggestions to add cheese and broccoli - as well as a dash of red chili flakes and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My family enjoys this recipe as is! YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
yummy soup. I followed the suggestions of the top reviewer and added some more spices. Also, will use this recipe for a base for "spinach a la creme" by leaving out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought this recipe as is was a little bland. So I spiced it up a bit with dried basil and thyme. I also added sauteed onions, celery and garlic as well as some grated carrots. I hand blended the soup and topped with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. It turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was outstanding. Easy and fast to prepare. I used bouillon cubes with the herbs incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Decent soup... I like that you can adjust the recipe to include different veggies. I blended it with my immersion blender to make it more creamy and less leafy. If I make it again, I'll try some of the suggested upgrades like parmesan or swiss cheese. I put a bit of white rice in there to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I didn't have broth or bulllion so I boiled a celery stalk, half of a bell pepper, garlic cloves and salt with the spinach. Then I grated 1/2 of an onion and sauteed it with the butter before adding the flour. I blended half of the celery stalk with the spinach for extra flavor, discarding the bell pepper. Then some thyme, parsley and salt. Pretty tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States