Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Dear people- read the reviews. My first taste I almost launched the pot down the sink. Then as it simmered I read more reviews. Unsure how to rate it since it's not that good as written but what are recipes anyway but good ideas to add to, right?!?! Ok agree with me later. This soup is EXCELLENT when you add a palmful of brown sugar. AND add extra pumpkin pie spices. AND a sprinkle or 2 of cayenne pepper. I used half-n-half and I ran outta onions, but did mince up some garlic. I really love how it turned out. Taste as you go and for the love of G-d do NOT over-salt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Great soup on a cold day! I made it lowfat by using Pam instead of butter, and using skim milk thickened with corn starch instead of whipping cream. Also, instead of croutons, I just floated some sliced scallions on the top to make it pretty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Great recipe! I made a double batch to take to a party and everyone loved it. I accidentally forgot to add the cream and it was still delicious; BUT I thought it was just a tad too salty, and will halve the salt next time (i'm sure the kind of broth you use affects the saltiness, too). I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, and added a pinch of nutmeg. I think I will follow other reviewers' advice and add about 1/4c brown sugar (or maybe maple syrup?!) next time, and maybe try topping with toasted pumpkin seeds?? The croutons were definitely a great touch to this recipe. I only had a loaf of french bread, so sliced that into 1/2 inch rounds and toppped that with the cinnamon sugar mixture and it was still great (although I think the wheat would've been better). VERY EASY TO MAKE! THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is an excellent base for either a savory or sweet cream of pumpkin soup. When I made it yesterday, I wanted a savory version for our family. I DOUBLED the recipe as given with the following adjustments: (1) Did NOT make the croutons (2) Used unsalted homemade chicken broth (3) Used total of 3 cans of pumpkin puree (4) Used total of 1 1/4 cups heavy cream (5) Used 3 teaspoons salt for total recipe (6) Added 1/2 tsp. Penzey's Chipotle ground red pepper (7) Added 1/2 tsp. Penzey's Ancho Chili pepper ground (8) Added 2 extra good shakes of cinnamon (9) Added fresh ground nutmeg (approx 1/4 tsp.) (10) Used an immersion blender right in the pan rather than pouring into a blender. This was a rich and delicious savory soup. It actually tastes even better the next day. I would suggest you start with only 1/4 tsp. of the Chipotle and Ancho ground peppers and taste and adjust according to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Love the soup -- it's now a staple for us. I also add more spices as other reviewers have said, we like to eat the soup with pumpkin ravioli floating in it -- yum! Now, I am a verrry amatuer cook, so I didn't know this -- let the onions and broth cool down before putting it in the blender! Otherwise it explodes on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The whole family loved this soup. We used whole milk instead of cream (and we loved the consistency, though it may not have been thick enough for others), added 1/4 c brown sugar, another 1/2 t cinnamon, and about 1/4 t cayenne. The cayenne really brought out the flavor of the pumpkin and the sweetness. The only other change was that I always use homemade chicken stock instead of storebought chicken broth. Very, very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I made this soup as the main course for a Fall luncheon and it was a HUGE hit! Sweet, but not too much so...the chicken broth helps to take away from the richness of the cream and pumpkin so you can eat a hearty serving and not get tired of it! I haven't had soup this good in a long time...it would be perfect for a first course at the holidays, and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
It is an excellant soup. I have never made the croutons but always dip plenty of crusty bread into this soup. I think it is even better second or third day. Easy, delicious, I have never needed to change a thing. I have used this recipe many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMERS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
OUTSTANDING! I served this soup as the first course in an autumn harvest dinner with cornish hens, roasted root vegetables, etc. BIG hit with my guests. I went easy on the onion after other reviews, and it was perfect (although I can see how it could easily be too oniony). To lower the fat, I substituted the cream with 1/2 cup half-and-half and 1/2 cup 1% milk, and it was plenty rich (could probably get away with all 1% milk next time). I didn't have time to try the croutons, but the soup was just fine on its own (especially as a first course). This is GREAT and easy recipe - THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
This turned out great but I added more brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit and give it some life. My husband was always bugging me to try to make it for him, and he loved it. We served it as first course with Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMZGRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States