Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Oh my, this soup is great and the croutons are to die for. I'll definitely be making this for a dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Tastes Excellent, is easy and can be made early with the cream added 10 minutes before serving. Added a touch more nutmeg and brown sugar to taste...really brought out the pumpkin flavors. Sprinkled a touch of paprika once in the serving bowl for color. Gorgeous! Made a couple of batches, once as a double batch. If you do this, do the onions in the processor all at once and only add as much broth as necessary to allow the processor to operate productively. ....no mess and very fine chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Savory, sweet, spicy...it hit all the right notes. Beautiful color and texture. My changes= 1/5x the canned pumpkin (made the pumpkin pop), 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (the smoky spicy addition complemented the sweet squash well), 3/4 the amount of heavy cream (so I could feel like it was healthier), and 1/4c. brown sugar added slowly to taste (added just a bit of sweetness that played up the pumpkin and dulled the heavy oniony flavor). I think next time I will whip up the remaining heavy cream with some powdered sugar and vanilla and add a dollop to the top of the soup just for fun. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very easy, pretty good taste. But little to salty for me. I will cut some salt down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vongruenigen
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The best pumpkin soup I've ever made. It's a staple in my house come fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It was good but I did change a few things. I served it in a bread bowl that I had added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough so I left out the croutons. Also I added more seasonings and added a handful of brown sugar in with the seasonings. Other than that I didnt change anything and my boyfriend who swore he was gonna hate it actually enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe. My family and I loved it. I stuck to the original recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Look no further this is the soup you want. Just add 1/4 cup of light brown sugar to add a touch of sweetness. Ignore the poor reviews...I did & I'm one happy woman for it. Im saving this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was really great if you add some of the additions stated by other reviewers. I added a handful of brown sugar to the soup, a little nutmeg, a little cayanne pepper, and double the amount of ginger and cinnamon. I loved the croutons, great addition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I rate 5 stars but I did do it quite differently... I didn't use butter--boiled the onion in water mixed with salted chicken broth and two chopped potatoes. Once cooked, I blended this (in portions) and returned it to the pot. Next, I blended the pumpkin with 2% milk and added it to the pot with the blended onion/potatoes. Added cinnamon, ginger, ground black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and a few shakes of cloves & nutmeg...and salt to taste. (I didn't need to add salt because it was in the chicken broth) Delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States