Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I read as many of the reviews as I could and I did add brown sugar and doubled the spices and added nutmeg. I also used half n half instead of the heavy whipping cream. This recipe was just OK...I was hoping it would be GREAT. It does need something...just don't know what it is! But I would make it again and just try to play with the ingredients a little. If you're interested, I would still say you try this recipe. It's good and is unique for a chilly fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WREDWRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
After the 1st time making it, the 2nd time I made a bunch of changes & it came out soooo yummy - reminded me of Thai food! For the soup base: omitted the onion & broth, simmered the pumpkin with 1/2 cup of brown sugar, dbl all the spices plus adding 1/4 tsp of cayenne & nutmeg. Tasted as I spiced it up & lastly added whipping cream & then stored in fridge for 2 days. Day of serving: softened 3 very small onions, then added broth, chopped 1/2 red bell pepper & 1 small yam covered until cooked, then cooked chicken tenders & chopped after cooked thru. Once everything was cooked through I added the pumpkin base. Delicious over rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was an awesome soup! I added a handful of brown sugar as others recommended, and used half 2% milk and half cream. Even better on day 2! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Upon reading other reviews I altered the soup recipe. These are my changes: only 1 can of low sodium chicken broth, 1 c half and half instead of cream, 3 tbsp margerine, 1 tsp cinnamon, almost a whole tsp of ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cayanne pepper, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 c light brown sugar, do not add salt until you try the soup, salt and black pepper to taste. Instructions: melt margerine in sauce pan, sautee onion until clear, add garlic, cayanne and other spices, add chicken broth, add pumpkin, add cream and sprinkle in brown sugar. Simmer down to desired thickness. I didn't puree the onions, although I think it would be better if I did; I didn't have my blender available due to a kitchen remodel. I also didn't make the crutons, due to a limited kitchen. This recipe was VERY easy, tastey and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Soup was good. Definately needs the croutons or some crusty french bread. I just prefer cream soups with great bread. My 6, 4, and 2 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I love pumpkin and this soup is delicious. It is creamy and smooth and the croutons make this soup perfect for a chilly autumn day or night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Really lovely spice to this pumpkin soup. I used butternut pumpkin which did't have as much colour as I couldn't get puree and added a little more pepper and less cinnamon. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Delicious! Added some sugar as suggested (I use Sucanat), real raw cream and added a few more spices and it hit the spot! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I got many many great comments when I made this for my cook's meeting. Personally, I thought it was a little bland, and a few others thought the same, but had I doubled the seasonings like others had this soup would have been wonderful. Warm and rich and smooth, and very versatile. You can take this dish in a lot of different directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
great recipe! I followed alot of the suggestions to add brown sugar & more cinnamon & pie spice. Careful with the ginger & nutmeg. taste as you go!!! Also I just toasted cinnamon raisin bread & dipped it or added sm pieces to the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States