Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Easier than butternut squash soup. After simmering 1/2 to 3/4 cup of onion and broth, I added 1/2 the second can of broth to cool it a bit then used the hand blender in the pot. Added the rest of the broth, and as others suggested, added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cayenne and cut salt down to just a pinch since I used regular chicken broth. Could still use more spices. Changed cream to 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup half and half. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I reduced the onion by half, did not add salt either. I added 2 tablespoons brown sugar, increased the ginger and cinnamon, and added 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice. My daughter ate 3 bowls. She hates soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Champenois Lmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
onions do not add to the flavor. could be sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The first time I made this, I was disappointed. It didn't turn out AT ALL the way I had hoped; I had imagined a sweeter soup rather than a more vegetable, autumnal-style one. This is, of course, not the recipe writer's fault. It just wasn't what I had wanted. However, I added 1 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batch, and lo and behold, I had my sweet pumpkin soup! It was wonderful! I served the variation at Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Simply delicious! Even impressed my mother in law who owns a restaurant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was wonderful! The croutons were an fantastic addition, so please don't skip them! Easy to do while you're simmering the soup. I always use low-sodium broth, so maybe that's why mine didn't seem salty? The flavor was perfectly good as written in the recipe (I might use just a touch less ginger next time but that's a personal preference). I did add just a little brown sugar (less than 1/8c) for just a little sweetness. Looking forward to the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Made this for Christmas. Skipped the croutons. I used canned low fat/low salt Chicken Broth so mine was not too salty as others had experienced. I added a small dollop of creme fraiche sprinkled with pinch of sesame seeds and marjoram - it was a wonderful add for the holiday meal. We served a small cup to all our guests with the main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Tasty and well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving - WOW! Rave reviews and it was simple. Make sure to make the little toast topping it - they rock :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
The texture was great, but could use a little more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRW

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States