Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
A great starter soup, not sure if I could just sit and eat a large bowl for a meal but very tasty! I didn't try the toast but will next time. I doubled the cinn. and ginger, also added a pinch of nutmeg, 2T of brown sugar and 1/8t of garlic pwder. This was very quick and a great fall soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Absolutely Awesome. I added some cubbed ham and omitted the salt for a little extra protein - the perfect fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ldeutsch33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is an excellent soup. I love the croutons; they add so much! I've made this a number of times, and the only thing I change is the type(s) of pumpkin I use. I usually steam my own, either baking pumpkins or kabocha. Also, depending upon how much I want to health it up, I change the cream to half&half or milk, or a combination of the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I did this as the recipe stated but had to add ingredients at the end. It needed more flavoring for me. I added brown sugar and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Best

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was good! The reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is b/c the "croutons" got super soggy in the soup and turned to mush and that was unappetizing. I ended up fishing them out and then just dipping the whole bread in it...which was a lot better! Soup had great flavor and crouton bread was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
3 1/2 stars - Right ingredients, but not in the right quantities. I added extra pumpkin puree, about 1.5x the amount of spices in the recipe, nutmeg, and .25x the salt. Instead of whipping cream, I used whole milk. I didn't want it to be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymlovr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Yummy! And the kids ate it! I was in a hurry. Did not make the croutons. And needed to soften the onions more so they would puree smoothly. Did what other readers suggested and added some brown sugar, and used pumpkin pie spice and doubled the amt in recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it twice now. The only thing I changed was adding white sugar to it. For some reason I have always associated pumpkin with a sweet taste. It was excellent. I also recommend doubling the sugar spread for the toast because it seemed hard to spread over as many slices as the recipe calls for. This is perfect for a crisp fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The soup was very flavorful and was a nice addition to fall recipes. I ended up using a can of pumpkin pie filling instead and will probably go with the unsweetened pumpkin next time. I also made this recipe before and included onion but ended up with chunks of onion instead. This time I used onion powder to give it the flavor without the chunks and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Awesome! I followed all reviewer suggestions. Next time I will go ahead and use the heavy whipping cream instead of half & half to make it creamier. Hubby said it was not "thick" enough. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epiphany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alpine, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States