Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
this was a bomb. even with the listed improvements i will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This really wasn't for me, I wont be mking it again!!! I really enjoy making soup but this was just too bland and I followed the recipe to a tee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Seriously delicious - even for pumpkin haters - i.e. my boyfriend. :) I even got paid to make a batch for a friend's Halloween party at work. This recipe is a keeper and one to make each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I'm not really liking it! like pp said - I too almost dumped the whole pot in the sink, as it really doens't taste like pumpkin soup I used to have in Germany. I taste too much like pumpkin pie for me at first, BUT if you are patient with it and let it simmer for a while and add other spices to it, it's edible. My husband and I didn't like it that much but it's edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good! I did salt to taste, but did most of the recipe as it asks. I used boullion cubes instead of broth, and milk instead of cream, but I like a thinner consistency better anyway. A very sweet soup, hence the 4 stars. I may prefer a savory pumpkin soup. I served it with the YUMMY croutons, some avocado and a little chedder cheese, which made it a tad more savory. Try the recipe and make it yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Omit salt, add extra cinnamon and pumpkin. Add 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Forget croutons. Definitely use fresh pumpkin, it creates a great texture. I am now required by my wife to serve this for guests this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I've never had pumpkin soup before so I don't really have anything to compare it to. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added cayanne pepper. It had a lot of levels of flavor, when I first tasted it, it was like pumpkin pie, then the heat of the pepper added a savory flavor to it. Also, I used 1% milk with just a splash of heavy cream to lighten it a little. For the croutons, I used a whole wheat, day old, bakery loaf and used olive oil, parmesan cheese and a little s&p. i thought the cinnamon croutons would be too much with the salty/peppery flavors. I really enjoyed it. It's not a soup I would eat everyday but it's very tasty and super comforting on a cold autumn day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I would give this 5 stars but it needs brown sugar (about 2tbs) to sweeten it just a bit. Also I cut the salt in half but that could have been my chicken stock that made it saltier. With these small changes, an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamagillett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This ia an awsome soup. I did make a couple of small changes. I doubled all of the spices except for the salt, added 1/4 tsp. Cayanne pepper and two tablespoons brown sugar. I also used 2% evap rather than heavy cream. So good. I didn't make the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nikiski, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kasilof, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Fabulous! I was too lazy to make the croutons, but the soup itself was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States