Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My first attempt at creamy-squash-type soup, and it was great! It was kind of an impromptu thing, basically I had leftover pumpkin after baking a "Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake" from this site, and looked up a soup for fun. I didn't have a lot of ingredients (no onions or heavy cream), but added minced garlic and just used milk instead, and it was nice and simple. Followed other comments to add brown sugar too, and it turned out really good. Personally, I might like it a little thicker, probably where the heavy cream comes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Just made this today for Thanksgiving celebration for a local Council of Aging, Served 120 seniors and received a standing ovation for my efforts. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I truely enjoy this recipe with a few modifications. I always double the cinnamon and ginger and add 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I also add 1/3 cup of bown sugar [I suppose I could use 1/4 cup, but I like my soup a little sweeter than some. ;)] I only use a pinch of black pepper and I add 1/16 to 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper (depending on my eaters' tolerace for spice). I skip the salt and throw in a few salted roasted pumpkin seeds for added texture. Garnish with leftover seeds and a sprinkle of nutmeg. Yum! Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
added 3 TBS of brown sugar and a couple shakes of cayenne pepper. followed the recipe exactly otherwise. turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
A delicious, light for a cream-based soup with the best kind of ingredients: Simple. I made this soup just yesterday for a competition at my work. I'm proud to say that this basic recipe beat out 9 other entries, some of which were just a tad too fancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reglaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
WOW is this soup ever sooo yummyy!!! I made homemade puree so I did like others and added the cornstarch and water. I also added some brown sugar to sweeeten it up some. I didnt have enough cinnamon for the bread, so I used pumpkin pie spice instead. Thanks for this amazing fall recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASONPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I loved this soup and so did my fiancé... and he usually doesn't like anything with pumpkin in it! I added some brown sugar and cayenne (to taste).... super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Th e first time we had pumpkin soup was on a cruise.Thought ,how weird, we tried it & loved it. so on halloween 09, i decided to try & make it. It turned out GREAT. I probably added less onions, more pumpkin,brown sugar,nutmeg. I will make this again.It is not the type of soup you would make a whole meal of, but very yummy & impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made my own pumpkin puree from leftover Halloween pumpkins. Since I made fresh pumpkin puree, I added about 2 T of cornstarch with 1/4 cup of water to thicken the soup. All I can say is WOW! The croutons made the soup taste like a pumpkin pie and the heavy whipping cream made a rich soup base. Who would have guessed pumpkin soup could taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
this is the very first time i have heard of pumpkin soup! I was interested. i followed in others suggestions of adding more brown sugar along with sprinkling cayenne pepper and basil to taste. The soup turned out great, maybe a little too sweet, but i will make it again! I also topped my bowl off with a scoop of sour cream, that set it off well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States