Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great soup. I did add 1/8 cup brown sugar and some pumpkin spice after reading reviews. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Five stars for what an amazing soup this can be, maybe four stars as written. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe needs a good 1/4 c. or so of brown sugar, and as usual I doubled the spices. I also added a bit of cayenne, which makes the soup both sweet and spicy, a lovely combination. My mother in law wasn't too enthused about the idea of this soup, but when she tasted it, she asked for three copies of the recipe - for her and her sisters! The homemade croutons couldn't be simpler and are a special touch. A few notes: I used veg broth because I'm vegetarian, and I think it imparted a sort of sourness that was easily remedied with the brown sugar. I also used half-and-half rather than whipping cream to "lighten up" the dish (if you call half-and-half light!!) and it was still plenty rich and creamy. This soup was a very nice addition to our Thanksgiving dinner, and I've already been enlisted to make it at next year's feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I second what others wrote about adding a bit of cayenne...not too much, just a sprinkle or two. It beautifully enhances the other flavors. I didn't make the croutons because I knew I liked the soup purely savory...so I also didn't add brown sugar like others suggested. Used fresh pumpkin instead of canned because that's what I had available...so easy, just cut pumpkin into large pieces (halves or quarters, depending on the size) and microwave for 15-20 minutes, or until fairly soft. Then throw it in the blender with the onion and chicken stock. Really, really yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good way to use up leftover pumpkin puree during the holiday season. Sadly, the flavor wasn't great - I played around with a few spices and brown sugar to improve it, but never really loved the result. Maybe I'm just not a savory pumpkin person. My boyfriend liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent easy to make soup. The bread is great even left as whole pieces and dunked for a more casual dinner. Very nice alternative to the traditional pumpkin soup flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Delicious! Didn't change a thing, except I used Allspice for the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My first attempt at creamy-squash-type soup, and it was great! It was kind of an impromptu thing, basically I had leftover pumpkin after baking a "Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake" from this site, and looked up a soup for fun. I didn't have a lot of ingredients (no onions or heavy cream), but added minced garlic and just used milk instead, and it was nice and simple. Followed other comments to add brown sugar too, and it turned out really good. Personally, I might like it a little thicker, probably where the heavy cream comes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Just made this today for Thanksgiving celebration for a local Council of Aging, Served 120 seniors and received a standing ovation for my efforts. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron LeMay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I truely enjoy this recipe with a few modifications. I always double the cinnamon and ginger and add 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I also add 1/3 cup of bown sugar [I suppose I could use 1/4 cup, but I like my soup a little sweeter than some. ;)] I only use a pinch of black pepper and I add 1/16 to 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper (depending on my eaters' tolerace for spice). I skip the salt and throw in a few salted roasted pumpkin seeds for added texture. Garnish with leftover seeds and a sprinkle of nutmeg. Yum! Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
added 3 TBS of brown sugar and a couple shakes of cayenne pepper. followed the recipe exactly otherwise. turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States