Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This soup was great! We took the advice of another reviewer and added celery and carrots to the sauteed onions. However, we didn't blend the vegetables...we wanted a little bit of "chunkiness" in our soup. It was delicious like that! We also added some fresh sage to the soup (we had used fresh sage in a butternut squash soup in the past), which was great! We did not add more sugar, as we wanted it more savory than sweet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I highly advise making the cinnamon croutons yourself. That is what made this recipe. It was a bit tedious to make, but it was really good! If you are serving several, double the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
i add half of big carrot and a small bunch of celery stalk in the sauted onion and blend together. It tasted greater and my husband love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good - would use light cream - the heavy cream made the soup to "muddy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Overall this is a nice recipe, however, I ended up adding some brown sugar to help round out the flavor. It was ok before the brown sugar, and significantly better with it. This was simple to make and I am looking forward to taking the leftovers as a lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
It's not fantastic. Everyone in my family tried it, but I'm sure we won't make it again. I even tried some of the suggestions in the reviews. Maybe we just don't like pumpkin enough. It was fun to try a new recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The recipe in its oiriginal form is not the best, but after reading others' reviews, I decided to add lots of extra brown sugar. After the addition of the sugar, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I liked the idea, it sounded different and looked good in the picture, but it wasn't my family's favorite soup. I followed the recipe, it just seemed a little bland or like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't follow the advice of several others reviewers by adding a little brown sugar. It made it way too sweet. Other than that, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am surprised by all the five star reviews. This recipe is not that good as written. It is pretty bland. I tripled the sugar and salt, doubled the cinnamon, and added cayenne and allspice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States