Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
really good! i added an extra can of pumpkin puree. Next time i make it i will roast a pumpkin and add some chnks to the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used 1% milk instead of the cream and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
incredible and very nutritious.. Everyone loved it! Definitely double the spices. It was a bit too thick for a soup so i just added some water to thin it, it didn't affect the taste at all. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My mom and I loved this wonderful soup! I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the spices, especially the ginger. This made for a wonderfully spicy soup, and the addition of the cinnamon croutons made it divine!! Also substituted fat free half and half instead of heavy whipping cream. All the goodness of a creamy pumpkin soup without all the guilt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving last year and it was an enormous hit. Everyone loved it including kids. I used fresh pumpkin though. Just slice a pumpkin in half, put it sliced side down on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake for 45 min - an hour. Let sit for 20 minutes to cool. It's easily scooped out of the skin and pureed in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love this soup. After reading some of the reviews, I decreased the onion to 1/2 cup and salt to 1/4 teaspoon, added 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/8 cayenne pepper, doubled the ginger and cinnamon. (Also used Swanson's low sodium chicken broth). To make the dish less fattening I used a combination of fat-free half-and-half & 2% milk. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is an awesome soup for fall. Make sure you take the time to make the cinnamon croutons. They make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
A nice addition for Thanksgiving, but I don't think I'd enjoy it the rest of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Fantastic soup!! Took everyone's suggestion and added 1/4cup of brown sugar, cut on the salt and added 1/8tsp of nutmeg. Definitely will do this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This soup was great! We took the advice of another reviewer and added celery and carrots to the sauteed onions. However, we didn't blend the vegetables...we wanted a little bit of "chunkiness" in our soup. It was delicious like that! We also added some fresh sage to the soup (we had used fresh sage in a butternut squash soup in the past), which was great! We did not add more sugar, as we wanted it more savory than sweet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States