Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
i add half of big carrot and a small bunch of celery stalk in the sauted onion and blend together. It tasted greater and my husband love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good - would use light cream - the heavy cream made the soup to "muddy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Overall this is a nice recipe, however, I ended up adding some brown sugar to help round out the flavor. It was ok before the brown sugar, and significantly better with it. This was simple to make and I am looking forward to taking the leftovers as a lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
It's not fantastic. Everyone in my family tried it, but I'm sure we won't make it again. I even tried some of the suggestions in the reviews. Maybe we just don't like pumpkin enough. It was fun to try a new recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The recipe in its oiriginal form is not the best, but after reading others' reviews, I decided to add lots of extra brown sugar. After the addition of the sugar, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I liked the idea, it sounded different and looked good in the picture, but it wasn't my family's favorite soup. I followed the recipe, it just seemed a little bland or like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't follow the advice of several others reviewers by adding a little brown sugar. It made it way too sweet. Other than that, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am surprised by all the five star reviews. This recipe is not that good as written. It is pretty bland. I tripled the sugar and salt, doubled the cinnamon, and added cayenne and allspice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great soup. I did add 1/8 cup brown sugar and some pumpkin spice after reading reviews. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Five stars for what an amazing soup this can be, maybe four stars as written. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe needs a good 1/4 c. or so of brown sugar, and as usual I doubled the spices. I also added a bit of cayenne, which makes the soup both sweet and spicy, a lovely combination. My mother in law wasn't too enthused about the idea of this soup, but when she tasted it, she asked for three copies of the recipe - for her and her sisters! The homemade croutons couldn't be simpler and are a special touch. A few notes: I used veg broth because I'm vegetarian, and I think it imparted a sort of sourness that was easily remedied with the brown sugar. I also used half-and-half rather than whipping cream to "lighten up" the dish (if you call half-and-half light!!) and it was still plenty rich and creamy. This soup was a very nice addition to our Thanksgiving dinner, and I've already been enlisted to make it at next year's feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States