Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tastey. I added extra ginger and it made it spicey. I also used whole milk instead of cream to cut the fat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I thought it was pretty good. Not the best soup i have ever made as i think it is a little rich and cannot imagine eating it more than one or two times, but did hit the spot. I just used the recipe as a guide. I melted about 1 tablespoon butter and about 1/4 cup brown sugar. Added 2 cans veg. broth. 2 cans water. 1 huge can pumpkin puree. Added cinnemon. Let cook for about 10 min. Then, added 2 cups cream. Pretty yummy. My kids ate it and are pretty picky usually, so that was a plus. super easy and tasted like fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Really good! I added a chicken bouillon cube to the onion simmer as well to increase flavor a bit. I would have liked it to be a tad bit thicker, but it still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It's October, so I was able to get a "pie pumpkin" at the grocery. I poked it with a knife, put it on a cookie sheet in the oven at 400 for 1hr, then cut it open, scooped out the seeds, and scooped out the "meat" into the blender. Added all other ingredients to blender with following adjustments: 1/2 onion, 1/2 c. whole milk (no cream), added 1/4c brown sugar, 4oz cream cheese, and pumpkin spice to taste. Blended, heated, served. Excellent, and very few dishes. Will use every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
tasted like baby food....dont think the problem is with the recipe though...I think generally speaking pumpking soup isnt the best :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sereen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My favorite soup ever! I took the advice of another reviewer and added the palmfull of brown surgar, extra pumpkin pie spice and some cayanne pepper. Sooooo good. I have made this for several events and everyone always asks me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I added nutmeg, more ginger, no salt, reduced sodium chicken broth and fresh pumpkin that I previously steamed and pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This soup wasn't great the first time I tried it, but I thought it was because I used milk instead of cream. So, the second time I made it, I used 2 small REAL pumpkins and not the canned stuff. I also cut out the cream/milk altogether and the homemade bread croutons and just added the spices directly to the soup. It was much better. However, my kids still didn't like it. I tried this exact soup with butternut squash and it was a hit...I'm thinking that my kids simply don't like pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading a few reviews, I made the following changes which resulted in a tasty bowl of soup: Added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 pinches of nutmeg, a shake of pumpkin pie spice and a shake of cayenne, used 1 cup of skim milk instead of the cream and served the toast cut into triangles on the side. I had the soup the following day and it tasted better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
really good! i added an extra can of pumpkin puree. Next time i make it i will roast a pumpkin and add some chnks to the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States