Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used 1% milk instead of the cream and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
incredible and very nutritious.. Everyone loved it! Definitely double the spices. It was a bit too thick for a soup so i just added some water to thin it, it didn't affect the taste at all. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My mom and I loved this wonderful soup! I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the spices, especially the ginger. This made for a wonderfully spicy soup, and the addition of the cinnamon croutons made it divine!! Also substituted fat free half and half instead of heavy whipping cream. All the goodness of a creamy pumpkin soup without all the guilt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving last year and it was an enormous hit. Everyone loved it including kids. I used fresh pumpkin though. Just slice a pumpkin in half, put it sliced side down on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake for 45 min - an hour. Let sit for 20 minutes to cool. It's easily scooped out of the skin and pureed in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love this soup. After reading some of the reviews, I decreased the onion to 1/2 cup and salt to 1/4 teaspoon, added 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/8 cayenne pepper, doubled the ginger and cinnamon. (Also used Swanson's low sodium chicken broth). To make the dish less fattening I used a combination of fat-free half-and-half & 2% milk. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is an awesome soup for fall. Make sure you take the time to make the cinnamon croutons. They make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
A nice addition for Thanksgiving, but I don't think I'd enjoy it the rest of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Fantastic soup!! Took everyone's suggestion and added 1/4cup of brown sugar, cut on the salt and added 1/8tsp of nutmeg. Definitely will do this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This soup was great! We took the advice of another reviewer and added celery and carrots to the sauteed onions. However, we didn't blend the vegetables...we wanted a little bit of "chunkiness" in our soup. It was delicious like that! We also added some fresh sage to the soup (we had used fresh sage in a butternut squash soup in the past), which was great! We did not add more sugar, as we wanted it more savory than sweet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I highly advise making the cinnamon croutons yourself. That is what made this recipe. It was a bit tedious to make, but it was really good! If you are serving several, double the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States