Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I don't think it had enough pumpkin and or too much cream. Made recipe as written. Tasted then I went to the reviews and mixed and match until I got the recipe to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I wish I had read the other reviews BEFORE I made this soup. Since it had a high rating, I assumed it was delicious as is. I doubled the recipe and used vegetable broth instead of chicken in order to make it vegetarian. It was not as thick as I imagined a cream of pumpkin soup to be and not as flavorful either. Definitely recommend adding additional spices, etc. in order to make this soup better! I did love the addition of the cinnamon toast croutons for this though and will use that to add to a different pumpkin soup recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used fresh pumpkin and the soup turned out good, but WAY TOO SALTY. i would leave out the salt all together. (i boiled the pumpkin chunks, drained and reserved the liquid, pureed the pumpkin and added chicken bouillon to the reserved liquid.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjendiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This soup was incredible. I followed the other recommendations and added extra brown sugar. Next time I'll carmelize the onions to see if that adds some sweetness. I used low-salt chicken broth and 2% milk plus a bit of half and half. I think it was perfect that way and wouldn't bother with the heavy cream. This is a keeper but I want to figure out a way to sweeten it up without so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made this soup and took it to a party--it was a hit! There wasn't a drop left and people are still calling to ask for the recipe. I read the reviews and decided to add 1/2 cup brown sugar when I added the pumpkin. I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more, you'll have to use your taste buds on this one...). This soup is definitely going in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tastey. I added extra ginger and it made it spicey. I also used whole milk instead of cream to cut the fat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I thought it was pretty good. Not the best soup i have ever made as i think it is a little rich and cannot imagine eating it more than one or two times, but did hit the spot. I just used the recipe as a guide. I melted about 1 tablespoon butter and about 1/4 cup brown sugar. Added 2 cans veg. broth. 2 cans water. 1 huge can pumpkin puree. Added cinnemon. Let cook for about 10 min. Then, added 2 cups cream. Pretty yummy. My kids ate it and are pretty picky usually, so that was a plus. super easy and tasted like fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Really good! I added a chicken bouillon cube to the onion simmer as well to increase flavor a bit. I would have liked it to be a tad bit thicker, but it still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It's October, so I was able to get a "pie pumpkin" at the grocery. I poked it with a knife, put it on a cookie sheet in the oven at 400 for 1hr, then cut it open, scooped out the seeds, and scooped out the "meat" into the blender. Added all other ingredients to blender with following adjustments: 1/2 onion, 1/2 c. whole milk (no cream), added 1/4c brown sugar, 4oz cream cheese, and pumpkin spice to taste. Blended, heated, served. Excellent, and very few dishes. Will use every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States