Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It's October, so I was able to get a "pie pumpkin" at the grocery. I poked it with a knife, put it on a cookie sheet in the oven at 400 for 1hr, then cut it open, scooped out the seeds, and scooped out the "meat" into the blender. Added all other ingredients to blender with following adjustments: 1/2 onion, 1/2 c. whole milk (no cream), added 1/4c brown sugar, 4oz cream cheese, and pumpkin spice to taste. Blended, heated, served. Excellent, and very few dishes. Will use every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
tasted like baby food....dont think the problem is with the recipe though...I think generally speaking pumpking soup isnt the best :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sereen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My favorite soup ever! I took the advice of another reviewer and added the palmfull of brown surgar, extra pumpkin pie spice and some cayanne pepper. Sooooo good. I have made this for several events and everyone always asks me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I added nutmeg, more ginger, no salt, reduced sodium chicken broth and fresh pumpkin that I previously steamed and pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This soup wasn't great the first time I tried it, but I thought it was because I used milk instead of cream. So, the second time I made it, I used 2 small REAL pumpkins and not the canned stuff. I also cut out the cream/milk altogether and the homemade bread croutons and just added the spices directly to the soup. It was much better. However, my kids still didn't like it. I tried this exact soup with butternut squash and it was a hit...I'm thinking that my kids simply don't like pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading a few reviews, I made the following changes which resulted in a tasty bowl of soup: Added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 pinches of nutmeg, a shake of pumpkin pie spice and a shake of cayenne, used 1 cup of skim milk instead of the cream and served the toast cut into triangles on the side. I had the soup the following day and it tasted better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
really good! i added an extra can of pumpkin puree. Next time i make it i will roast a pumpkin and add some chnks to the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used 1% milk instead of the cream and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
incredible and very nutritious.. Everyone loved it! Definitely double the spices. It was a bit too thick for a soup so i just added some water to thin it, it didn't affect the taste at all. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My mom and I loved this wonderful soup! I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the spices, especially the ginger. This made for a wonderfully spicy soup, and the addition of the cinnamon croutons made it divine!! Also substituted fat free half and half instead of heavy whipping cream. All the goodness of a creamy pumpkin soup without all the guilt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States