Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. It makes the house smell wonderful and tastes great. I was not a fan of the crutons as the sugar on top burned. I will make it again without the crutons though because it's great without them. Used evaporated milk instead of cream for health and threw in extra brown sugar and a dash of cayenne as reviews recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
this came out bland. I followed directions exactly as written. I definitley will more spices next time (maybe double the ones called for) and I will NOT use the whole cup of cream. It came out almost white and not a creamy orange color I was looking for. Maybe just thicken it w/ corn starch and forget the cream. I will experiment next time.....there will definitley be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Loved this soup! I just used less onion and milk instead of cream. Don't forget to read "Pumpkin Soup" to your kids before you make it. They got a kick out of making and eating it because they love the book (and the soup now too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I use fresh pumpkin by cooking it with the chicken broth and onions, I remove the onions prior to puree and add a packet of Crocks Spicy Soup Mix. Fabulous flavor and no cream needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I agree with the other reviews, I amped up the spices, added brown sugar and doubled the pumpkin and it was divine. I also used evaporated milk in place of the cream to cut fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a really great base soup and turned out really fantastic with the modifications I made. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added extra pumpkin spices as well as brown sugar. Then I substituted the heavy cream with coconut milk and added yellow curry to taste. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Really good! I followed the reviewers suggestions and added about a palmful of brown sugar, used light cream instead of heavy and even my picky 8 year old liked it1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Sorry to be so negative but this was waaaaaay too salty and had absolutely no pumpkin flavor. I followed the directions exactly except for subbing not fat half & half for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Used half and half instead of whipping cream. Added Splenda brown sugar and lots of curry. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxInTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I make pumpkin soup a lot this time of year and have tried many recipes. This is a very good recipe but I made some alterations. I peeled and added an apple instead of the brown sugar--that gave it the sweetness but also more autumn flavor and went well with the spices. I added double or triple the ginger (I just threw some in without measuring) but I would have preferred to use some fresh ginger. I used fresh pumpkin (only because I had from Halloween) and I used a can of evaporated milk instead of cream to reduce calories but still tastes great. It turned out great, even our little kids like it. Oh and I didn't even add salt, usually the chicken broth has plenty for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States