Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup is amazing! I made plenty of pumpkin puree and plan to make this a few more times before the end of the year! Highly recommended and easy. The cinnamon crutons were such a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna Fabre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Now a holiday tradition. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is an awesome soup... instead of pumpkin out of the can I used fresh pumpkin. I agree with the comments regarding it being a little flat... try adding 1/4 cup of Vermont Amber Maple Syrup... it will blow your socks off!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wonderful soup! I just made this for Thanksgiving tomorrow and doubled the recipe and omitted the croutons for time's sake. I read the reviews and (keep in mind everything was doubled) in addition to the written recipe I added about a cup of dark brown sugar, used white ground pepper instead of black, added a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 2 dashes of ground cayenne pepper and I couldn't believe how delicious it is! I also was amazed at how easy making a homemade soup was. This tastes like Fall and is perfect for Thanksgiving! Thanks for posting -- excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Really really great. Use high-quality stock and make extra toasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great recipe, I added extra of the spices to taste. I did not make the croutons because I didn't feel like it, but I did add brown sugar to the soup. I also used whole milk in place of the heavy cream and thought it was plenty rich and thick. I almost think the heavy cream would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. It makes the house smell wonderful and tastes great. I was not a fan of the crutons as the sugar on top burned. I will make it again without the crutons though because it's great without them. Used evaporated milk instead of cream for health and threw in extra brown sugar and a dash of cayenne as reviews recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
this came out bland. I followed directions exactly as written. I definitley will more spices next time (maybe double the ones called for) and I will NOT use the whole cup of cream. It came out almost white and not a creamy orange color I was looking for. Maybe just thicken it w/ corn starch and forget the cream. I will experiment next time.....there will definitley be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Loved this soup! I just used less onion and milk instead of cream. Don't forget to read "Pumpkin Soup" to your kids before you make it. They got a kick out of making and eating it because they love the book (and the soup now too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Packer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I use fresh pumpkin by cooking it with the chicken broth and onions, I remove the onions prior to puree and add a packet of Crocks Spicy Soup Mix. Fabulous flavor and no cream needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States