Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Amazing. Even my 2 and 4 year old ate it and asked for more... That's a major win! I didn't have bread to make the croutons and they still loved it!! Didn't change a thing other than adding some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe and it tasted like pumpkin dishwater. I agree with Guidoswife. This soup definitely needed some brown sugar and more seasonings. I guess canned pumpkin can not substitute for roasted butternut squash, that was my first mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Easy, yummy and cheap to make! The whole family loved it... It will stay in our menu ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
We loved it. Will add some ground gloves next. I used yogurt instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this soup for a Christmas gift exchange party and everyone loved it. I especially like that it does not use garlic because one of my friends can't eat it. I added a little cornstarch mixture at the end to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this the day after Thanksgiving and added all our leftover vegetables; mushrooms, broccoli, and Brussels sprouts (chopped onto smaller chunks). Used a generous spoonful of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and ginger. Turkey broth instead of chicken. Didn't blend it, just left it chunky. Even my picky-eater father-in-law finished every bite. Great taste and good way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I added a cup of cooked split peas to the blender and used 2% milk instead of cream. As others suggested, I used pumpkin pie spice and added a little brown sugar. Word to the wise: it's probably not a good idea to put hot broth in your blender or food processor. Let it cool first or melt a few ice cubes in it. Also, I felt the croutons were too big when cut into 8 pieces, but maybe that's just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Used 1/2 cup yellow onion, half and half instead of cream, added 1/4 cup brown sugar and doubled the spices. Also added a little cayenne pepper for a little spice like other reviewers suggested. Even with these changes, the soup was only pretty good. Next time I will add more pumpkin (there wasn't enough pumpkin flavor for me) and use less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Easier than butternut squash soup. After simmering 1/2 to 3/4 cup of onion and broth, I added 1/2 the second can of broth to cool it a bit then used the hand blender in the pot. Added the rest of the broth, and as others suggested, added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cayenne and cut salt down to just a pinch since I used regular chicken broth. Could still use more spices. Changed cream to 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup half and half. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I reduced the onion by half, did not add salt either. I added 2 tablespoons brown sugar, increased the ginger and cinnamon, and added 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice. My daughter ate 3 bowls. She hates soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Champenois Lmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States