Cream of Pumpkin Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is my family's favorite pumpkin soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I added 1 cubed yam and a big can of lentils for substance. Also I didn't use the cream but instead a can of coconut milk. Yum! Oh and I added about a tablespoon of cayenne for some bite ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was really good and easy to make! I made a few changes, but overall it was the same recipe and as is was delicious! The only changes I made were to sub evap. milk for the heavy cream (unavailable right now in all the stores..the evap worked just fine and saved some calories at the same time!) and added some extra curry, and threw in some extra salt, pepper, nutmeg (just a dash or two) and ginger. Right now there is no sour cream here either, so just had it straight up and hubby and I both enjoyed it for Halloween dinner last night (and I am enjoying a 2nd bowl for brunch right now!). Yummmm! Next time I will puree some celery and carrots in as well as the onions I think for more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is a delicious soup. I did make a few changes, not because it is a bad recipe, but because I'm on a diet and I'm always looking for ways to alter full-fat recipes without sacrificing too much taste. I did make this soup with only 1.5 tablespoons of butter - I found that the onion sautes fine in that much or even less. That alone saves 150 calories and 15g of fat off the total recipe. I also used 1% milk and a tiny bit of cornstarch for thickening, without great detriment to the taste. That also saves 300 calories and 28g of fat. In the end, my product has 120 calories and 5.6g of fat, and I think it tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Awesome. Very easy and delicious. This is the best pumpkin soup I've tried. Absolutly a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Great recipe! But I had no curry so i used kurkuma instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Wow! I have been looking for a pumpkin soup since we had a fabulous one on our honeymoon 10 years ago so I have tasted many bowls of pumpkin soup over the years. This one is the best and may be what we had 10 years ago. I added a teaspoon of nutmeg and used cream instead of half and half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
only ok. The only thing I did different was to use 3 cups chicken broth and a tad more salt. I was able to eat mine with chopped chives and sour crean on top. No one else in my family liked it. I thought it had to much curry flavor and my husband thought it had too much pumpkin (squash) flavor. I know it wasn't my cup of tea (although I ate mine) when I didn't want seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is my MOST requested soup recipe!!! I love it, love it, love it!!!! I look forward to fall just so I can make and enjoy this delicious soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Wow! I didn't know what to expect from this. To me, pumpkins are for dessert, not soup. But yum! I used olive oil instead of butter and homemade broth instead of bouillon. It did need way more salt, but I am sure that is because I did not use the bouillon cubes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States