Cream of Onion and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Simple and delicious! Tastes very creamy. For 4 servings: used 4 medium potatoes, 1 and 1/2 onions, and blended with 1 C. water. Added 1 and 1/2 cups lowfat (but not skim) milk, sprinkle of pepper, and a few pinches of sea salt. This will make a very thick soup. I recommend blending the parsley in the blender with the potatoes and onions. Leave 1/4 to 1/2 of the potatoes unblended, if you want chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was sooooo good, I made it exactly as posted, except for seasoning. I like spicy food so I added more spice like I normally do. This soup became very creamy, next time I will leave a part of the potato/onion mix out and add it later for a little texture. Very good and VERY easy!!! Oh, instead of parsley I used chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Beckham
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
While this was pretty easy to make, I too found it to be very bland. I ended up adding worcestershire sauce, lots of black pepper and salt, shredded cheddar cheese and bacon. I think next time I will make the roux with bacon drippings and cook the veggies in chicken stock. I also only added 8 cups of milk rather than 9 cups and didn't use any of the reserve water from the potatoes and onions. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was great. I added 1T of ground mustard and 1T Worsteshire sauce. I also added carrot chunks and cooked cubbed chicken. I like chuncky potatoes in my soup so I used a potato masher and just mashed half of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I scaled this recipe down to 6 servings. I used 1/4 cup of the reserve potato water in the soup. I also added 1/4 tsp dried cilatro. We do not use salt in our cooking due to sodium reduced diets. This is a perfect recipe for potato soup. You can add whatever you want to garnish. It is a healthier way of eating potato soup. Thumbs up on healthy cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup, but didn't understand what to do with the reserved water, so I didn't use it. I cooked bacon and used the bacon grease instead of butter for the roux, and then topped the soup with the chopped up bacon and some shredded cheddar. It was fantastic. I do have enough soup for the next week, though. My kids don't seem to be interested in eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wynona, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty recipe. Loved it! Scaled it down to 4 servings and served it with shredded cheese, fresh diced cilantro and sour cream as topping options. Fantastic for a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I wanted to try a new recipe for cream of potato soup so I picked this one, since there was a ton of onions. I must say I was very disapponited with it. It has no flavor whatsoever. I tried to doctor it up, but nothing worked. And like someone meantioned... WAY TOO much liquid :( If you are thinking of trying this recipe - don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
this was so good, and so easy! I've never made soup before and it turned out great, even scaled down to 6 servings. The only changes I made were to add some garlic salt and a lot of table salt, and I didn't blend the potato mixture because we like chunky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Perfect consistency for cream of potato. I tweaked it to make a cream of potato and broccoli. If that was your plan, too, keep in mind creaming and adding broccoli makes it bland, but Worcestershire sauce , mustard powder, and a LOT of salt (4 tbsp. in a 6 serving recipe) relieves that. Great recipe, very easy! I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States