Cream of Onion and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
this was so good, and so easy! I've never made soup before and it turned out great, even scaled down to 6 servings. The only changes I made were to add some garlic salt and a lot of table salt, and I didn't blend the potato mixture because we like chunky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty recipe. Loved it! Scaled it down to 4 servings and served it with shredded cheese, fresh diced cilantro and sour cream as topping options. Fantastic for a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is a really good recipe. I didn't put all of the potato and onion mixture in the blender because my family likes pieces of potato in their soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mayport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Great basic recipe. I however added a lot of extra spices such as seasoning salt. Also I omitted the parsley, i honestly hate that stuff ha, instead I used another seasoning which is made up of ground orageno, parsley, onions, thyme, etc. Really GOOD!!!! Everybody asked for seconds, and even licked their bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This soup made my house smell wonderful. It was the perfect dinner for a cold day. More importantly my husband says it is a keeper! I added 1/2 cup cream for every 2 cups of milk. I also added seasoning salt and garlic salt as well as table salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jopp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Utah, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Oooh, I love potato soup and this was so easy to make. I made mine with half idaho potato and half gold yukon which makes the texture oh so good. It smelled great cooking, and tasted wonderful on day one and two. This recipe is also a good base for additions such as ham, cheese, etc. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynlc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Photo by unexpectedtriumphs
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
nice and simple pleasures are what makes cooking supper the best weekend activity. this great base could take many variations dependent on the cook's tastes. my version was with tobasco sauce & marjoram added to the base and broth while simmering. also i topped the soup with fresh red peppers, hot quality pepperoni and grated marble cheese. since i aim for a basic attempt at a recipe, i also used a potato masher to puree the mixture, preserving a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unexpectedtriumphs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Made as is and it was good. Cheap and easy. It need lots of salt and pepper and it was good served with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Perfect consistency for cream of potato. I tweaked it to make a cream of potato and broccoli. If that was your plan, too, keep in mind creaming and adding broccoli makes it bland, but Worcestershire sauce , mustard powder, and a LOT of salt (4 tbsp. in a 6 serving recipe) relieves that. Great recipe, very easy! I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States