Cream of Onion and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
This was a very hearty soup that I really enjoyed! I added vegetarian sausage & a little low-fat shredded cheddar and it was YUMMY!! I'd highly recommend this soup! It could serve a a tasty base to any veggie cream soup... just toss in some other veggies after you've pureed everything & enjoy! Or, it's good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This recipe, in my opinion, has too many onions. I reduced the potatoes in half but only added two onions. My house smelled like onion for days. I enjoyed the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is a really good recipe. I didn't put all of the potato and onion mixture in the blender because my family likes pieces of potato in their soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
excellent recipe, easy to make and a pleasure to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mayport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is a great soup. The preparation time took a lot longer, although that might be because I'm a newbie to soups. It took about an hour just to chop everything and then another couple hours to do all the purreeing, roux, and simmering. Definitely leave enough time for interruptions or a few mistakes like I did. I was not sure what to do with the 3 cups of water so I repureed everything again with the 3 c. water. I like that the parsley mitigates the onion. I also liked that it uses some of its own stock. I look forward to savoring this yummy soup over the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I added condensed vegetable cubes and stripes of savoy cabbage after puring everything, it turned out so delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Tasted very well and was easy to make, used 3 onions instead of using 5 to make 10 portions, perhaps wish id of used ther full 5 now but definatly workth making again. plenty of pepper though and i was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Lovely soup but beware - it doesn't scale down the 3 cups of juice so if you make less, reduce the amount of liquid you use as it was a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a wonderful, creamy soup, but like another reviewer noted, there is too much liquid when making a smaller recipe. I decided to keep the extra liquid and made the white sauce thicker, using three tablespoons each of butter and flour to two cups of milk. I also cooked the onions and potatoes in vegetable stock instead of water and stirred in about 1 teaspoon of ground sage (It brought out the onion flavor.) with the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States