Cream of Onion and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Simple and delicious! Tastes very creamy. For 4 servings: used 4 medium potatoes, 1 and 1/2 onions, and blended with 1 C. water. Added 1 and 1/2 cups lowfat (but not skim) milk, sprinkle of pepper, and a few pinches of sea salt. This will make a very thick soup. I recommend blending the parsley in the blender with the potatoes and onions. Leave 1/4 to 1/2 of the potatoes unblended, if you want chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was sooooo good, I made it exactly as posted, except for seasoning. I like spicy food so I added more spice like I normally do. This soup became very creamy, next time I will leave a part of the potato/onion mix out and add it later for a little texture. Very good and VERY easy!!! Oh, instead of parsley I used chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Beckham
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
While this was pretty easy to make, I too found it to be very bland. I ended up adding worcestershire sauce, lots of black pepper and salt, shredded cheddar cheese and bacon. I think next time I will make the roux with bacon drippings and cook the veggies in chicken stock. I also only added 8 cups of milk rather than 9 cups and didn't use any of the reserve water from the potatoes and onions. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was great. I added 1T of ground mustard and 1T Worsteshire sauce. I also added carrot chunks and cooked cubbed chicken. I like chuncky potatoes in my soup so I used a potato masher and just mashed half of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I scaled this recipe down to 6 servings. I used 1/4 cup of the reserve potato water in the soup. I also added 1/4 tsp dried cilatro. We do not use salt in our cooking due to sodium reduced diets. This is a perfect recipe for potato soup. You can add whatever you want to garnish. It is a healthier way of eating potato soup. Thumbs up on healthy cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup, but didn't understand what to do with the reserved water, so I didn't use it. I cooked bacon and used the bacon grease instead of butter for the roux, and then topped the soup with the chopped up bacon and some shredded cheddar. It was fantastic. I do have enough soup for the next week, though. My kids don't seem to be interested in eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wynona, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty recipe. Loved it! Scaled it down to 4 servings and served it with shredded cheese, fresh diced cilantro and sour cream as topping options. Fantastic for a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I wanted to try a new recipe for cream of potato soup so I picked this one, since there was a ton of onions. I must say I was very disapponited with it. It has no flavor whatsoever. I tried to doctor it up, but nothing worked. And like someone meantioned... WAY TOO much liquid :( If you are thinking of trying this recipe - don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
this was so good, and so easy! I've never made soup before and it turned out great, even scaled down to 6 servings. The only changes I made were to add some garlic salt and a lot of table salt, and I didn't blend the potato mixture because we like chunky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Perfect consistency for cream of potato. I tweaked it to make a cream of potato and broccoli. If that was your plan, too, keep in mind creaming and adding broccoli makes it bland, but Worcestershire sauce , mustard powder, and a LOT of salt (4 tbsp. in a 6 serving recipe) relieves that. Great recipe, very easy! I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States