Cream of Mushroom Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This soup is amazing!!! I made a few changes... I sauteed some oinions, garlic, and celery in butter forst before adding mushrooms. I used shitake, portobellas and baby bellas. I pureed about 1/3 of the mixture at that point. This really helped distribute the flavor throughout the soup. I also substitued fat free half and half for the heavy cream. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe, Colleen - thanks so much for posting it. The soup had a rich flavour thanks to the sherry and cream while the mushrooms had a buttery texture. Perfect as a meal when served with crusty bread. I made this for the first time tonight and just added 2 cloves of crushed garlic to the melted butter before sauteeing the mushrooms. I used low fat thickened cream and this created the perfect degree of richness for me. The soup only need a little cracked black pepper on serving. I'm definitely going to be making this soup throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I am the only one who likes mushrooms in my family so I halved the recipe automatically. I followed the recipe (also adding a little green onion for flavor) up to the chicken broth and then added only one can (14 oz.) of chicken broth. I added the 1 cube beef bouillon as you would for the whole recipe. I didn't have any sherry so omitted it and just stirred in the (1/2 c.) cream, cooking just until heated through. Man, was it delicious! It tasted just like what you would get in a fine restaurant! Of course, making it this way cuts down on the number of servings so I have to say this would probably serve 2 to 3 very nicely. To tell you the truth, "I ate the whole thing" all by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My picky boyfriend and son both loved it. And it was so easy! Only change I made was, I added a small chopped onion. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Trott Nowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I would give this recipe an all over 5 star rating except kids are usually not fond of mushrooms. I liked it best with cutting the mushrooms into chuncks, or sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Simply delicious . . . I used fat free half and half to replace heavy cream, and it was great. Also sprinkled a little nutmeg on top when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is fantasitc!!!! Will add a little more flour next time as I prefer a thicker soup!! Added leftover prime rib for church soup potluck and there was none left to take home!! This soup is sooooo easy! Everyone will think you took all day to amke it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was a simple, great recipe. I live very close to Kennet Square, Pa., and this recipe rivals their own! added an onion and elephant garlic (sweeter) and used fat free evaporated milk mixed with Cornstarch instead to heavy cream! Saved tons of calories without giving up taste. Thanks Sadie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe! A few things I changed: I like a thicker soup, so I doubled the flour. Also, I have a hard time making anything savory without onion, garlic, and an herb of some sort. So, I added 1 finely chopped shallot, 2 minced garlic cloves, and about 1 1/2 tsp rosemary or thyme (I've made it both ways and love each herb in this). This is one that my picky husband requests OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This was O.K. but, it tasted more like cream of chicken stock soup than cream of mushroom. It was easy, however; there is a reason you add aromatics. I will stick to my old receipe from "The Joy of Cooking". Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States