Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I was looking for a simple cream of mushroom soup recipe ... and this is it! I didn't use thyme, and I did use the stalks (don't like to waste). I pureed the stalks in a food processor to make the soup thicker, and sliced the caps (also in processor). A little extra flour to thicken the soup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is the best cream of mushroom soup recipe I have tried on this website. My husband LOVED it and he hates mushrooms. Every time I make this for dinner guests they rave about it. This dish is wonderful in that is tastes fancy, but it really isn't...it's very cheap and easy to make. Only thing I changed was I used shallots rather than onion because I think shallots add a richness that is just perfect for soups. I like that this recipe does not call for you to puree the soup. I like my cream of mushroom soup with big chunks of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I added a few items, and it turned out very tasty. I used 3 oz. of shiitake, 6 oz. of portabella, and approx. 8 oz. of white mushrooms. I did not have fresh thyme, so I used about 1/2 tsp. dry. I also used a 1/2 of a med. onion instead of the green, and sauted with the garlic. I had to add corn starch after the flour addition, as it was a little runny. I also had a 1/2 of a lemon in the fridge, and gave the soup a few good squirts after adding the 1/2 & 1/2. It was really good...especially with garlic toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I like this because you don't puree the mushrooms, leaving nice pieces in the soup. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable and added an extra tablespoon of flour for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very nice soup with a good depth of flavor. I used chopped shallot instead of green onion and chicken stock in place of vegetable broth. I coarse chopped the mushrooms instead of slicing, for ease of eating. The only thing keeping this recipe from being 5 stars is it rather thin. Next time I will thicken it further. Serves 4 small soup bowls. If using for a main I would definitely double. Thank you for this keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was the best soup I ever made. I used chicken broth instead and a little more flour. We Loved It!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This is wonderful!! It was so easy! I doubled it and it all went. I tried it with asparagus that was great too. I also tried it with spinache, not so good. But the mushroom soup is the best i've ever had. I am a poor cook and this was sooo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe. I use a combination of wild mushrooms, any will do. Chop finely. For our tastes, I use more flour, for a thicker soup. I, too, use chicken broth, rather tha vegetable. I just don't care for vegetable broth. I also don't use garlic as I get sick on garlic. Re-hydrated dried mushrooms are fine to use in this. Also,instead of onions, try shallots or leeks. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
We thought this was pretty good but prefer chicken broth to the vegetable and could use a little more flour for our desired consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Very tasty soup. A little different as mushrooms are not pureed but still good. I had no light cream in the house I used sour cream and it worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States