Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very efficient recipe. I pureed the soup and added half a tin of vegetables. I also used 2/3 cup low fat yogurt as I was out of cream. I put the yogurt in first then pureed it. Leaving some big chunks too!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
not one of my favorites. you really have to love mushrooms to even like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Yummy! I needed a super thick soup, so I used butter instead of margarine and more flour than recipe states. I added two tablespoons of worchestire. I cut down the water to 3 cups and used milk instead of cream. Added ground beef and poured the thick creation over rice for stoganauff! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was wonderful! I am in Chile South America and was unable to find a can of cream of mushroom soup for a recipe that I wanted to make. I had to improvise with this recipe. I used fresh chopped dill, whole milk, fresh mushrooms, chicken broth, margarine and I used cornstarch to thicken it up. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I made a couple of changes, but that was more a matter of personal preference. I used a small yellow onion (it's what I had on hand) instead of the green onion. I also added 2 T of cooking Sherry and replaced the vegetable broth with chicken broth. Before adding the light cream I pureed the broth so that it was smooth, setting aside about 4 mushrooms that were just beautiful, and used them for garnish. Even my teenaged son gobbled up this soup! I will used this recipe often, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Growing up on classic canned Cream of Mushroom, I have to say I really like this more mature version. The taste is very good without being too complicated or 'different'. It was not as thick as I would have liked, so I ended up adding an addl Tbsp of dissolved corn starch. Also a splash of dry white wine for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Not a bad recipe all in all. This is my first time making it, and I had to substitute minced garlic for the cloves, and ground thyme for fresh. The garlic taste was a bit much for me, and it wasn't as creamy as I wanted. Next time I may use less vegetable broth and garlic next time, and maybe a bit more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
It's so nice to find a vegetarian version of this soup. I didn't use thyme and followed the suggestions to use more flour however went overboard and used too much. Either way this was delicious. Hearty, flavorful and really easy to make! I also used the stalks and extra mushrooms. I think 3 cloves of garlic was a little much for me but would be good for huge garlic lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I prepared it in a stock pot and added 1/2 cup of sherry. Like other reviewers, I pureed everything after cooking and used 1/2 cup of butter. Great tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States