Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
The flavor was good, but I like my Cream of Mushroom Soup to be more creamy...this was a little loose for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved this simple recipe. I used skim milk instead of cream, regular thyme, and yellow onions (all I had on hand) and it turned out fantastic as well as really healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Yummy! The pepper, thyme, and sherry give this soup a lot of great flavor. I pureed half of my mushrooms to create a creamier texture. I also used skim milk instead of heavier milk and it still had a nice silky texture. Not adding the salt to the mushrooms until after they are sauteed was a great tip from a previous poster. Thanks for a wonderful vegetarian recipe that my family enjoyed=:) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very. Loved the chunks of mushrooms. It was extremely easy to make. It was thin so after the following the original recipe, I threw in a cup of wild rice and let that simmer. A nice filling vegetarian soup with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I loved this. I hate mushroom soup from a can but this was great! My 20 month old gobbled it up too. I didn't have green onion, chives or thyme so my version probably would be even better if I followed the recipe. I subbed 1/2 white onion diced really small and some oregano but it seemed to be missing something. The only reason this is 4 stars not 5 is that it was too runny. As per other reviews I would use more flour to thicken it more next time. I also took my hand blender and mixed up a bit. I left lots of big muchroom chunks but was trying to thicken it a bit by pureeing in about 1/2 the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
It's a good starting base but a little bland and to thin. I won't do what 90% of the raters do and give it 5 stars after totally revamping the recipe...you may not like what I like! Give it a try and make the changes YOU want to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very easy and quite good! Did need to thicken it as previous reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
loved it! I made it with leek instead of onion, rest as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was a great soup! I made some changes based on what I had on hand. I sliced up a regular onion, used 5 cloves of garlic (I'm a garlic nut), dried italian seasoning, chicken broth, extra flour and a can of evaporated milk instead of cream. Now that I know how easy it is to make Cream of Mushroom Soup I don't think I'll ever resort to using canned again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyhorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Delicious! I added twice as much flour since I like a thicker soup, plus a little lemon juice. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States