Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I didn't have cream, so used milk and sour cream. Used butter instead of margarine, and only 2 cloves of garlic, and water instead of veg broth. I gave it 4 stars because it tasted pretty good, better than canned, but I had to add 3 more tablespoons of flour to get the thicker soup I'm used to from a can. Also, I used 1/4 tsp of white pepper and 1 3/4 tsp of salt. I will make it again, but will puree the stems and some tops so I get a soup with some mushroom chunks, and I will further reduce the garlic to 1 clove as even with just too it was pretty strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I omitted the thyme and chives, but I did end up sprinkling a little thyme at the end of cooking process. I added chopped spinach, thinly chopped tofu, and 2 tbsp of flour. It was absolutely delicious! My family loved it! Thank you! God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Tried this tonight and it was perfect! Just added a little more flour for my own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This soup is amazing. My husband even loved it. I used twice the amount of mushrooms, extra butter and double the flour. I also used shallots in place of the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
this was very good, after reading all the add more flour I am glad I did also. In addition I added some Madiera wine to give it some added taste and also had whole grain rice that I threw in. My meat & potato husband said it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is an incredible mushroom soup recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
My husband raved about this- he especially liked the sliced mushrooms and the thinner base then him childhood memories of canned soup. I tweaked it a bit- used mushroom broth, added sherry, went with a shallot, green onion combo (think I would just go shallot next time) and 3T of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very delicious and easy. My one modification I had to make was that I'm cooking for a lactose intolerant idividual so I substituted the margerine for a completely vegan butter (yes, even some margerine has milk in it), and the light cream I substituted with coconut milk that I allowed to separate in the fridge to remove the liquid portion of the 'milk' and save the more solid portion for the soup. comes out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Had an amazing mushroom soup at a fancy restaurant, so I wanted to see if I could duplicate it. This recipe came very close. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
best mushroom soup I ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States