Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Delicious. I changed very little about this recipe. First, I used half the amount of thyme because I only had dried, and used half and half instead of light cream. I used the amount of flour in the recipe, but it didn't give me the thickness I was looking for, next time I'll add more. Also, a heavy hand on garlic powder towards the end of the cook complimented the soup beautifully. I also used an immersion blender to combine all the ingredients and make for smaller mushroom bits. Very nice, and a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! Try not to miss out on the fresh thyme, it adds nice flavor. DON'T use dry thyme unless it's crushed. Cook the stems separately and puree, it really adds nice texture to the soup and additional mushroom flavor. I used homemade chix stock, adding to the richness. Celery is good, too. Adds flavor to ALL soups! If you like Cream of Mushroom, you will definitely LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I have made this twice already and am preparing to make again today since I have tons of shiitake & cremini on hand. I have used mushroom broth, which adds to the flavor instead of the veggie broth. Also FF 1/2 & 1/2 assists to lighten things up. Shallots also have a nice subtle undertone. EXTRA YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedminster, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
this recipe is absoloutely amazing... But I used brown mushrooms and of course kept the stalks!!! Bravo, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Oh my heck...this was terrible soup. I followed the instructions and did up the flour by 1 T. per some of the other reviews. The soup was thinner than milk! I even added two doses of corn starch to thicken it. All I could taste was the green onions and the chicken stock. The flavor of the mushrooms was completely lost. I made myself eat one small bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was good, as is, but I made some changes to it that in my opinion kicked it up to about 7+ stars. I used chicken broth (didn't have vegetable broth on hand), heavy cream, regular onion (I didn't have green onions), a little more butter, and more fresh thyme than called for. I also added fresh chopped rosemary to the mix as I sauteed it. Very rich!!!!!! But OH so yummy. I used chives when serving it, but didn't really notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I just finished making this and it ws very good! I used portobella mushrooms and instead of throwing out the stems, I made my own stock. I pured the stems and used instead of the veggie stock. I did need to add a bit of salt as there really was none in the stock. I also used yellow onion because that is what I had onhand. I will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
i will never ever again ever use the canned cream of mushroom soup. this was FABULOUS! i used baby bella mushrooms and i had fresh thyme on hand. it was sooo creamy and soooo good! added the salt at the end to taste as well as a touch of sherry per other reviewers suggestions. i plan on making a big batch and freezing portions so i always have some on hand to use in my recipes. WHO needs the canned stuff now??? this would probably make a killer chicken pot pie if i added shredded chicken from a rotisserie chicken and veggies and baked it covered by a prepared pie crust!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Other than using butter instead of margarine, doubling up on the garlic and using 1/2 pound mushrooms and 1/2 pound baby bella mushrooms, I thought this was the best tasting mushroom soup I've ever had. The mushroom flavor was amazing and my whole family loved it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Way too bland! I kept tasting it as I was cooking, and it just tasted like broth. I doubled the amount to thyme, added a little coriander, and added in tons of salt and white pepper but I still wasn't liking the way it tasted. Finally, at the end, I decided to add 2 tsp of lemon juice and 1 tbsp of cooking sherry, per another recipe on this site. That made it edible. I didn't have the chives to garnish it with at the end, so that may have been part of the problem. I picked this recipe because it used vegetable broth, instead of beef or chicken broth like the other recipes here, but I'll definitely try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States