Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This recipe is delicious, even without the sherry! Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Tried this today. Great beginning. Small changes .. used chicken flavor soup powder and water, added chicken chunks, pureed only 1/2 and used milk instead of cream. Lower calories that way. Thickened with a little corn starch. All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I don't eat mushrooms but I needed a recipe to use use for green bean casserole. I made this by adding garlic and omitting the mushrooms and it was perfect. I also skipped the chicken broth since I wanted a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I was making Tuna Noodle Casserole, which calls for cream of mushroom soup. I only had s can of cream of broccoli and thought I'd go with that, but decided to look up a recipe on this forum, and found this one. It was excellent and my wife and myself had it as starter while the casserole cooked. Also, it went well into the Tuna Noodle Casserole. I'll use it from now on being it's healthier and has less sodium than the commercial brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimR-OCDS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious, just what I was looking for. I did it few times and everybody in my family loved it. I added little more sherry, just because I like stronger smell and sautéed onions with mushrooms as was recommended in others reviews. Great and so easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my go to recipe. I love the simplicity and ease of preparation. The only difference I made was to add about 1/4 tsp. of freshly ground nutmeg, just because I like the flavour of it with creamy dishes. Everything else I left the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Great quick and simple tasty recipe. Use sliced portabella mushrooms and unsalted butter. Substitute heavy whipping cream for half-and-half. Skip the blender/food-processor. Beef broth can be substituted for chicken broth (if desired).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love this recipe,I've made it tons of times and my whole family loves it,I make it the way the recipe says,except I don't puree the veggies, I chop them,and I added a 1/2 cup chopped celery,I use Italian seasoning,I've used milk and it works just as good as the hath and half,and I didn't have any sherry,but it was awesome with out it,it's better than the canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I make this about once a month for the cafe I manage and it is a hit! It is creamy and full of flavor. I made it with Marsala this time because we were out of cooking Sherry and it was still yummy! The Red Bird Cafe, in Brockport, New York 14420 highly recommends this savory soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sxoidmal
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I plowed ahead with this recipe even though I lacked a couple ingredients. Instead of an onion, I used three cloves of garlic; for want of sherry, I splashed in some Irish whiskey and my wife's homemade crabapple wine. It still turned out splendidly, great consistency and everything. It's all I can do to keep from wolfing it down tonight, rather than rationing it for a week of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States