Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Even though I had to make a few changes because of lack of supplies, this stuff was great! I have no doubt that it would be excellent in the recipe as written or with on hand items used creatively. Thanks for an exceptional addition to what I like to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Tasted nasty and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This is my "go to" recipe. Perfect as is. I prefer to puree rather than leave larger chunks in the soup. The flavor is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
It turned out perfectly. I omitted the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Great recipe! Followed it accordingly. Found it to be a bit thick, so next time I'll add some more broth. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reem Haidar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I made this as written the first time and didn't serve it. The texture that the soup had was gritty for lack of a better word. However the taste was great so I made it the next night by chopping the mushrooms into a rough chop and proceeding with the recipe as written with no pureeing and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I preferred to saute the onions/mushrooms (rather than boil); it just seems to bring out the flavors more. I used a combination of sliced mushrooms and 1 oz of shitakes. After soaking the dried shitakes, I reserved some of their liquid and used that in combination with the chicken broth. I pureed only half of the finished mixture, wanting some mushroom pieces in the soup. I think this will be better as it stands in the next day or so. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Earthy deliciousness. The mushrooms are the star of this soup. We have spent the past year eating less and less processed junk so our palette is adjusted to real food. This was lovely. We did omit the sherry. I still feel this is a valid review even without the liquor as there are many who cannot or do not cook/drink alcohol. In my case, we cook late at night & alcohol sales are illegal at this time in my area so I did not have the legal option to cook the recipe as written. It's still a valid review. If you're looking for a recipe that tastes just like the tinned MSG-laden "cream of mushroom" soup then your palette probably won't fully appreciate the nuanced flavors of this soup. For everyone else, however, it's a really good version of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Excellent as-is, or tweak it for your own taste. I like to use some dried mushrooms with the fresh, and use the (strained) water from the reconstitution with the chicken broth. My husband doesn't pester me for much, but he pesters me for a batch of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
We made this tonight. I chopped up the mushrooms and onions pretty small so we wouldn't have to puree them and also didn't put in sherry, because we didn't have any. We did put some garlic and dried chives in it, because the cook doesn't cook without garlic. It was yummy. It looked like a lot before we started cooking, but it cooked way down. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah McGrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States