Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Wow, I will never use canned soup again! I sauteed the onions and mushroom and thyme in butter until almost done, then added white zin because I didn't have sherry. I allowed that to boil off for a few minutes then set to the side before I made the roux. The depth of flavor is amazing in this soup. We used it Christmas and Thanksgiving as the base for green bean casserole but it could easily be eaten by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Simple recipe and tasty...thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
OMG! This was amazing. My husband and I couldn't stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Good base recipe, but needs some tweaking. As many said, saute onion, then garlic (the base for everything savory!), then mushrooms in butter or olive oil. I use at least 4-5 lbs of mushrooms at a time (it's no more work than a puny 5 cup recipe, plus you'll want leftovers), and put about half through the food processor on the shred disc, and very roughly chop the rest. Mixed mushrooms is delicious, but at the minimum, use something more flavorful than plain white. Shiitake, cremini, bellas, woodears, whatever you can find (except enoki; their delicateness is lost in this soup). I then add a carton of broth, puree a few swishes with the stick blender, add the roux and (for my volume of soup), 1-2 c heavy cream. This soup is wonderful with plenty of s&p.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Yum yum yum had to use rosemary and a can of cream of mush soup with extra water since I didn't have half and half but really liked it this way didn't think it serves 6 though so make double
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was amazing! I like my soup really creamy so I used 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream. I also had a bunch of garlic and butter that was sitting on my stove from escargot being broiled and I thought "why not" so I threw the butter and garlic in. I made this for thanksgiving for the green bean casserole but ended up eating so much of it (cause its amazing) that I was short for the recipe I had intended it for haha. I'm making this again today for dinner cause its just WOW! I'm using portabella mushrooms for mine and sautéing them in butter, onions, and garlic then adding them to the recipe. I'm sure this recipe is great the way it is but I love to experiment with food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
OMG this is so delicious! I added chopped celery, bit of carrots, and a garlic clove and all my family enjoyed this. Will use for New Year's Eve Celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
YUMMY and easy. I made 1/2 batch and only changes was to decrease the thyme (not a hug fan) and added a roasted garlic clove (leftover from last night). WOW. Oh forgot the salt & pepper as I usually add those after tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Great recipe, Husdand asked for more before he was even done with first bowl, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe was absolutely fantastic right off the bat I read the reviews....and agree wholeheartedly "Do Not Change a Thing" Please everyone....try the recipes on this site, just as they are written,at least the first time ...then make any changes that may suit your tastes. Yes this is a very simple method, BUT it works brilliantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA-LENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States