Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup is incredibly easy to make. I doubled it but followed the recipe closely except that I did not have sherry so had to leave it out. Oh - I used double cream. I added a total of 1c cream even though I doubked the recipe. It was plenty for our tastes. In fact, I added almost another cup of chicken broth, both to thin the soup some and to dilute the creaminess. It was perfect for us then. Once you make the roux and add the mushrooms/onions back into the pot, you can use your own judgment about how much and what proportion of broth and cream (or combination of milk and cream) to use for your family's tastes. I also did not puree the mushrooms/onions at all. Try it. Regarding the chicken broth, I had recently cooked a whole chicken so had the stock from that to use. I had frozen some of it in silicone cupcake pans, about 1/3 cup in each. Very convenient.) As i said, very easy and very delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
As we say in the south, this is slap yo' mama good. I made it according to the recipe directions, using a blend of maitake, shitake, baby bella and white mushrooms. (All but the white mushrooms were organic.) My original plan was to make it and freeze it for use in recipes. However, we just may have it for dinner instead. If I were doing it again, and making it to eat as a soup instead of as an ingredient in other dishes, I would only puree about half of it. That's the only thing that I would differently. It is perfect the way that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
my first cream of mushroom soup.Exellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used half white and half baby portabella's. Great flavor. I used tarragon instead of the thyme and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It was an excellent mushroom soup. I substituted half and half with milk, since that all I had. My children were excited and liked it so much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I know, I know, we're supposed to rate the recipe as is, but even though I didn't have sherry or half and half, I wanted to share that this recipe was STILL amazing! I used heavy cream instead of half and half, and I skipped the roux making step (I just added the flour to the already cooked vegetables and stock and thickened it up that way), but it was still so tasty, and much, much better than canned. As far as servings, it made about 5-6 cups of soup, so if you want more of this deliciousness, double the recipe! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I have made this soup at least half a dozen times per instructions, and it's always incredibly delicious! Tonight for fewer calories & less fat, I used 1/2 cup regular half & half and 1/2 cup of Trader Joe's fat-free half & half, and I can't tell the difference. I also added five Golden Yukon potatoes to the "finished" soup, after chopping them into soup-sized chunks and boiling them for about ten minutes in a separate pot. The new cream of mushroom and potato soup tastes great! But Karena's soup is the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Really good simple recipe that I have made several times. I've made it exactly as directed, but have also substituted skim milk or whipping cream for the half and half. I've even omitted the sherry or substituted white wine. It still turns out great. I no longer buy canned mushroom soup. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this soup a couple of hours ago, and I love it! I used crimini mushrooms and used one medium onion. I will be making this again. So simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Tasty and easy soup to make. Will keep this recipe as my main recipe for Mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States