Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I don't like onions so I use garlic instead, otherwise it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Excellent flavor, thick as creamed mushrooms. 5 cups of mushrooms? That's a lot for the amount of liquid. My soup was the color of dirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
..for the mushroom soup, instead of cooking the mushrooms in the broth right away, I first sauteed the onions (and added garlic) and mushrooms in butter then followed the simple 3-step recipe with what else haven’t been done... rest is part of humble blurb here: http://erlibnisse.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/of-buttermilk-and-half-and-half/ thanks a lot for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This recipe was truly bland. I don't know what else to say about it. It was quick to throw together, which I was truly impressed with. But when I sat down to eat, it was not what I was expecting. If I ever attempt this recipe again, I'd sautee the mushrooms with garlic and onion first, then puree half that mixture. I find that puree'ing the mushrooms with the chicken stock made the soup way too thick. So I'd sautee the mushrooms separately after they are cooked, and then add the chicken broth with the other final ingredients (cream flour butter) and let it simmer til the desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this recipe using roughly 8 cups of morel mushrooms. I doubled the recipe. Only thing I did differently was used a heavy cream/milk mixture because the store was out of half and half and I used a splash of moscato because I didn't have sherry. It actually tasted very good using that wine so I think you could use any wine you think tastes good. It turned out delicious. The morel flavor was very rich. I froze it in 2 cup portions and have been using it to make recipes that call for a can of cream of mushroom soup. Morels by themselves don't freeze well so if you find a lot of them this is an excellent way to preserve them and to incorporate them in many different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I added broccoli with the mushrooms and onions and added cheddar right before eating. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is fabulous.... With that being said I agree with many others in leave it alone it is GREAT just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I need more stars for this recipe!! I've been making it for years and it is delicious. I sometimes tweak it and make a lighter version by subbing milk for the half and half, but rarely as this soup is a real treat and it's worth the extra calories. Thanks Karena :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at mushroom soup and it was very good. I doubled the sherry and the half & half (I had a lot of mushrooms) and next time I think I would only puree half to 3/4 of the mushrooms, leaving some in larger pieces for appearance. Overall very good and I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe! It's easy, but more importantly, it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States