Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this recipe using roughly 8 cups of morel mushrooms. I doubled the recipe. Only thing I did differently was used a heavy cream/milk mixture because the store was out of half and half and I used a splash of moscato because I didn't have sherry. It actually tasted very good using that wine so I think you could use any wine you think tastes good. It turned out delicious. The morel flavor was very rich. I froze it in 2 cup portions and have been using it to make recipes that call for a can of cream of mushroom soup. Morels by themselves don't freeze well so if you find a lot of them this is an excellent way to preserve them and to incorporate them in many different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I added broccoli with the mushrooms and onions and added cheddar right before eating. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is fabulous.... With that being said I agree with many others in leave it alone it is GREAT just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I need more stars for this recipe!! I've been making it for years and it is delicious. I sometimes tweak it and make a lighter version by subbing milk for the half and half, but rarely as this soup is a real treat and it's worth the extra calories. Thanks Karena :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at mushroom soup and it was very good. I doubled the sherry and the half & half (I had a lot of mushrooms) and next time I think I would only puree half to 3/4 of the mushrooms, leaving some in larger pieces for appearance. Overall very good and I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe! It's easy, but more importantly, it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I sautéed my Mushrooms and Onions in the Butter then added the Flour to that, rather than cooking mushrooms in broth. then I added the Broth and half and half other ingredients. I also added some heavy cream and about a half spoon of Nutmeg powder (secret ingredient).....It was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by West Vancouver foodie
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used the ingredients shown, but changed the methods. To concentrate flavours, I sauteed the onion and sliced mushrooms in a shallow pan with the butter until they were lightly browned (I added one clove minced garlic towards the end). I transferred the mixture to a soup pot then added the flour and cooked for a couple of minutes. Whisked in the broth, added thyme, salt and pepper, then brought to a boil. Added the half and half, then reheated slowly before adding the sherry. Before serving, I used a stick blender to roughly chop the mushrooms. I then added some chopped Italian parsley for colour and a bit of texture. If the soup is too thick, a splash of chicken stock would be useful. It is good to offer salt and a pepper grinder at the table in case anyone wants to correct the seasoning to their taste. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This recipe makes an amazing soup but you only get two large bowls. I skipped the puree step as I like chunky soups. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this almost as is. I left out the sherry and instead of half and half I used sour cream. We love it I'm making a double batch right now. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missfitt77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States