Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was absolutely amazing with only a few minor changes. We sauteed the onions and mushrooms with a touch of butter before we added the broth and fresh thyme. We did not blend completely as it tastes better chunky. We used half heavy cream and half & half. At the end we thought something was missing, so we added some garlic powder to taste. I bet it would have been equally tasty if you add fresh garlic when you saute mushroom and onions. Also we didn't have Sherry so we used Madeira. I think if the recipe called for garlic originally this would have been a five star! a couple more things this made about 3 1/2 cups of soup so double it up and use some for a green bean casserole! We used baby bella mushrooms once sliced we used about 12oz which was a about a 1 1/2 pkgs (8oz whole baby bella). Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Delicious! My boyfriend said it was the best mushroom soup he ever had! I did reserve half of the mushroom mixture and added directly to the soup because we like the whole pieces. I also sautéed the mushrooms and onions first. I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Excellent! great taste! great texture! A Definite Keeper! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Piedmont, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was fantastic, and easy! I didn't have Sherry so I didn't put any in but it was still delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I love Cream of Mushroom soup, but I love it thick and rich. I boiled leek (in place of onion and I needed to use it up), carrots and celery in the chicken broth first, then blended them into a puree. This is was the base for my stock. Other than using the required chicken stock, this was wonderful on the rainy day I made it!!!! Normally I use a rue to create this texture, but this did the job with out gluten or the fat and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I MADE THIS TODAY BECAUSE I HAD AN EXCESS SUPPLY OF MUSHROOMS ON HAND, WHITE, BABY BELLA AND SHITAKE. I USED ALL THREE. THE SOUP WAS WONDERFUL, HOWEVER THE RECIPE ONLY MADE 3 SIDE SERVINGS, FOR A SOUP AND SANDWICH MEAL. WILL ABSOLUTELY MAKE AGAIN, BUT MAYBE DOUBLE THE RECIPE FOR LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe! 2nd time making in 2 weeks. Easy prep, gourmet taste! Served it with Fabulous Homemade Bread by j. drury on this site and it was a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I really liked this recipe as a base for making mushroom soup. It's basic, so I feel like it leaves room to experiment, which I did! I made a few modifications: I added more broth, added some of my personal favorite spices, and added some larger chunks of mushrooms. I also cooked the onions in a little bit of pork fat just to add some flavor.Overall this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wow is all I can say about this soup! I made this and my husband said it was the best mushroom soup he has ever had. This is a winner. I made this as directed and it was really good. This is a keeper and will be making this soup again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I love mushrooms, either you do or you don't I left the recipe as it was posted. I added table sherry and not cooking sherry, this soup is wonderful. Do not hesitate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathelynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States