Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Perfect. I only had heavy cream on hand, so I used it in lieu of the half and half. I will never ever use canned mushroom soup in a recipe again. I'm going to make some and freeze it so that I have it on hand when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
A very good and simple recipe. I usually make it vegan by substituting soy butter, almond milk, and vegetable broth. It is quite delicious. I have also made the original version for non-vegan people, and they loved it. When I do the vegan version I add the almond milk to the roux and cook it until nice and thick before adding everything else. Otherwise the soup will not be thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I love the recipe! However, when you cook with different kind of mushrooms the recipe gets awesomeness!! I will not give u my recipe! But think out of the box when u see different mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Excellent, I didn't have Sherry, so I just added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I also didn't have thyme, so I added a clove of garlic instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thanks, Karena, for a great soup recipe. I liked it enough to rate 5 stars but ended up making tweaks. To avoid being admonished, I made the recipe as close as possible to as written as I could except I made the roux in a separate pan and added it just before the 21% fat cream (half and half is not very common in Germany). The result was nice, and WAY better than any canned stuff you get off the shelf. This recipe was easy, not too time consuming and was genuine, not processed. BTW: Cooking the onions and mushrooms in the broth makes it easier to multitask in the kitchen, helpful when cooking a full meal or preparing for guests. Sauteing may be a good option but requires more oversight. However good the baseline soup was, I had to tweak from there to put my personality into it. I doubled the salt, pepper, sherry, and thyme, then added a pinch of cayenne and one tsp of garlic powder, but that wasn't quite enough for my palate. I then added one tsp of Maggi seasoning (European soy sauce, available at most large supermarkets) and that took the soup over the top. If I would have thought about the Maggi sooner, I would not have added the second tsp of salt, though, as it made it a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
great start, I added Marsala, and did not blend. great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I didnt have half and half so i used heavy cream. I will definitely be making this again for sure. I am going to put it over some pork chops with noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This soup is thick and hearty enough to use as a sauce over rice, chicken, etc. The flavor is excellent--and so many mushrooms! Very easy to make. The only change I made was to use white pepper instead of black which left a nice subtle heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
All I can say is "wow!" This recipe was so simple yet full of flavor. My only substitution was using vegetable broth rather than chicken. Also, omitted the sherry as I didn't have any on hand. May add a splash of white wine next go 'round. My husband RAVED about it, and that has never happened before. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Perry

Displaying results 121-130 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States