Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was a wonderful, easy recipe. I didn't have half and half so I used 1% milk. I also added 3 cloves of garlic and eliminated the thyme. It came out perfect and was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autumn
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I will definitely use this recipe again! Thank you for sharing! I made it dairy-free with unflavored almond milk, a little corn starch to thicken it, and vegan butter! Turned out great and could not even tell that I did not use any dairy! Husband couldn't even tell! I also didn't puree the mushrooms! Yum yum! Thanks again! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The taste is amazing, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelike
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Wonderful! I only made minor changes to suit my taste - garlic powder instead of onions (don't like them) and gluten free flour to thicken (am sensitive to gluten). I also sautéed the mushrooms and seasonings before adding broth. To make it easier, I just gave it a few pulses with my stick blender since I like mushroom chunks. The sherry and thyme give a great flavor! Thanks for an easy recipe with simple ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really like this soup! I made it almost exactly as is except a few very minor changes. I doubled it and it made about 8 cups of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is an incredibly easy recipe and the soup turned out great. I followed the suggestions made by SUHANSEN in the review of the 'most helpful critical review'. I agree with not pureeing the mushrooms. If your mushroom have a lot of dark 'fins' then you soup will turn out ugly. I left mine in very large chunks and used button mushrooms with had very little fin development. I added a little garlic. I'll try again using cornstarch instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This soup has great flavor, I loved it! I sauteed the mushrooms and onions in the butter, then added the flour and stirred until it absorbed the butter, then added the other ingredients (I used heavy cream because I like a creamier soup, and omitted the sherry because I don't like it) then just added some garlic salt to taste. Different method than the recipe, but it worked great and the soup was ready to eat in 15 minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
It is a cold day here so I just made this soup. The only change I made was using a leek instead of an onion. It was perfect. Great soup!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Oh so good!!! I made this almost exactly according to the recipe, with a couple of minor tweaks. First, I added a couple cloves of chopped garlic with the veggies. I also sauted them for a few minutes before adding the chicken broth to let them cook completely. Lastly, I used fat free half and half. For this first time, I used regular white button, baby bella, and shitake mushrooms, but I imagine it would be delicious with any types. Karena, thank you so much for the amazing recipe! It at least ties, if not beats, the to die for soup we had on our honeymoon cruise last year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Very good I used Shitake mushrooms and white added some garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States