Cream of Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Delicious! I was looking for a simple gravy to serve over breaded pork chops, for dinner tonight. My husband loved it! He told to put this in the rotation. He was even giving suggestions on entrees and sides that he thought it would be great paired with. My husband likes spicy and the pepper definitely did that. I think I may cut the pepper in half next time, though it definitely wasn't a deal breaker. Also, I didn't have a can of milk on hand, so I used 2% milk that I had in the fridge instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misscellular

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Go easy on pepper and Italian seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Thank you for this quick gravy recipe. I made it for my husband last night. He loves it and ate all of it over biscuits and rice. He is lactose intolerant so I had to use almond milk. I also scaled back the pepper because he is sensitive to excess spice. I made no other changes. It was wonderful and so simple and quick with a wow factor like you cooked all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Such an amazing recipe. Hands down one of my favorites to cook with. I took the advice from others with the pepper and it turned out great, also added some chopped chives and fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I love this recipe and have used it multiple times. Its great with ground turkey and noodles or rice. I have made a few substitutes to this recipe and find that no matter what I try it always turns out great. I discovered recently that I am lactose intolerant so this time I used almond milk. Took out the soy sauce, and added one egg, and a teaspoon of flour to thicken it. The almond milk gives it a beautiful earthy flavor. Just delicious! You can definitely experiment with the different spices like oregano, Italian seasoning, add extra mushrooms. The only 2 things I always keep the same is 1/2 a can of milk/ almond milk to 1 can of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoveLace
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is my go to gravy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe with exception of only adding 1 tsp. of pepper. That was way too much pepper even then. I would probably leave out the pepper altogether or maybe just add a pinch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very easy and quick recipe. I did just a dash of chili powder and 1 tsp. black pepper. I will probably just do 1/2 tsp. of pepper next time. I mixed the ingredients and put sauce in with frozen meatballs in crockpot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
My husband and I think this sauce is as good as any 5-star restaurant. We poured it over boneless pork chops and served a side of cut green beans with it. It is easy to make and tastes just as good a couple of days later after being refrigerated and reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe is very simple and quick. I used 1 tsp of black pepper and 1/8 tsp of red pepper, I also added 1/8 tsp of dry basil. I made Bow-Tie pasta and pre- done frozen Italian Meatballs. After microwaving the meatballs I placed them in the sauce pan and let it simmer. Dinner was a success, although, still a little too much black pepper. I would do over with 1/2 tsp or less of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States