Cream of Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I followed the advice of others - I sautéed the garlic and onions in butter, then added canned sliced potatoes. I used 2 cans cream of mushroom soup. Instead of evaporated milk (1.5 cups), I used 3/4 cup of half & half and 3/4 cup of milk as that was all I had on hand. I followed the instructions for the rest, except that I added in broccoli and fresh mushrooms near the end (I wanted them to have a bit of a crunch). The sauce was creamy and thick and with the extra ingredients added, the sauce came out better than I had expected (I'm not often brave enough to tamper with recipes lol). I served it over egg noodles. This dish came out wonderful. My bf, who can be a bit of a food critic, thought it was amazing so this recipe is a keeper and I will be making this again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manuel Fredrick Thodos
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Cam out excellent as I'm always looking to make something new for my family this came out great next though just going to use less water so it's thicker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Thia recipe was great I havw a family of 5 and belwive me its hard getting everyone to like a meal but they all like it This is a keeper. I fixes mines over linguine pasta and I omitted the water completely out and just used whole milk and a can and half of the soup. I also added peas and shredded carrots to the recipe and used fresh mushrooms. It was delicious. Only thing missing was garlic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This recipe was not bad, but did lack overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Excellent meal. I used only 2 chicken breasts and a tbsp of flour to create more of a gravy. Served over rice or mashed potatoes and you have a very yummy meal the whole family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C4TLADY
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very easy and tastes great! I changed a few things though. I didn't add water because a lot of the comments said that it made the sauce too runny, and I'm glad that I left it out. I added green beans, diced carrots, and I chopped the chicken into smaller pieces. We served it in bowls instead so it was more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C4TLADY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I sauteed fresh mushrooms and onion in the 2 TBSP of butter. I put the mushrooms and onions aside and seared fresh chicken tenders in the same pan. While I was searing the chicken, I put the condensed soup and the can of evaporated milk in a pot. I added some minced garlic and black pepper. I did not add water since many reviewers said the water was not needed. I put the seared chicken pieces in the boiling sauce and then lowered the pot to simmer for 35 minutes. I served over a brown rice/quinoa mix that I cooked with chicken broth and garlic. I put the sauteed onion and mushrooms on top. It was delicious. Searing the chicken sealed in the juices and made the presentation of the dish better. I will make it again. We will gladly eat the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very easy and quick to throw together! for such few and basic ingredients I was shocked how good this was! I did only use a cup of water an onion and a half lots of Garlic I had no mushrooms so I decided to add a bag of mixed vegetables and added a couple Tbs of onion and chive cream cheese served it over pasta for my husband and mashed potatoes for my daughter.I will most defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is an easy recipe to make for last minute dinner. I didn't use water because I like a thicker sauce. Plus, if you are a college kid looking for something quick, easy, and cheep to make, this is it. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made this tonight. However, I was missing all ingredients except the chicken and soup.. so i used broccoli instead of mushrooms. Didnt have any onions used onion powder and garlic powder. And used chicken broth instead of water for added taste. Then thickened it up with corn starch and served over rice not noodles.. It was good even after completely altering the recipe.. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhousewife7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States