Cream of Jerusalem Artichoke Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I used shallots instead of onions, yogurt instead of cream and left out the brandy. A wonderfully delicate flavor, and very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is a full safe recipe. Whether you use less butter, don't use exact amounts or decide not to blend the soup one still ends up with a delicious meal. Lovely. I considered using some macadamian nut oil and less butter but will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was delicious. Though my kids weren't fans. I did add garlic to it. And put Parmesan on it at the end. It was a very homey/earthy soup. Oh and if you want more flavor or spice--red pepper is good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I omitted brandy and only used whole milk, instead of heavy cream. Some review mentioned that the taste a little bit bland, which I disagree. I really enjoy the hearty and subtle taste of Jerusalem Artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Oh my gosh was this good!! I did add some garlic to the onions, but other than that I followed the recipe as written. I wish I had more Jerusalem artichokes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Our family loves this soup! I don't use the cream, flour or brandy, but I do add garlic. We top it with shaved parmesan cheese and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow, my family loved this soup. I made it less rich by using 2 tbs butter instead of 1/4 cup and whole milk instead of cream. I used vegetable broth, and dry sherry instead of brandy. I also added 2 garlic cloves as suggested. We found it to be creamy, hearty and filling with a slightly smokey flavor from the sunchokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Katonah, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This was simple to make & tastes delicious! It's hard to find a good Jerusalem artichoke recipe (esp. one that doesn't require peeling). I substituted non-dairy organic cream-based sauce base for the cream + vegetable stock for both the butter & the chicken stock, to make a vegan version -- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i had never cooked with jerusalem artichokes before - this soup was excellent - unique tasting and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I love making soups and even though I had never tried Jerusalem Artichokes before, it sounded interesting. It was easy to make and delicious. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States