Cream of Jerusalem Artichoke Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This was simple to make & tastes delicious! It's hard to find a good Jerusalem artichoke recipe (esp. one that doesn't require peeling). I substituted non-dairy organic cream-based sauce base for the cream + vegetable stock for both the butter & the chicken stock, to make a vegan version -- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i had never cooked with jerusalem artichokes before - this soup was excellent - unique tasting and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I love making soups and even though I had never tried Jerusalem Artichokes before, it sounded interesting. It was easy to make and delicious. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Not sure if I did something wrong, but I found that the Jerusalem artichokes did not soften enough to puree smoothly - I even simmered them for an additional 20 min before trying to puree them. The texture was too rough for a cream soup and unfortunately, this kind of ruined the soup experience for me. Outside of the texture - the taste was good - different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Pretty good recipe! I caramelized the onions until they were light brown and tossed in a couple of cloves of garlic when adding the potatoes and artichokes. I thought this added some nice depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This soup is delicious. I had no brandy, but added several garlic cloves, also a touch of nutmeg. I used my immersion blender to puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A classy soup. I used cognac instead of brandy ans skim milk instead of cream to cut the fat, and it was still very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Our family loves this soup! I don't use the cream, flour or brandy, but I do add garlic. We top it with shaved parmesan cheese and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow, my family loved this soup. I made it less rich by using 2 tbs butter instead of 1/4 cup and whole milk instead of cream. I used vegetable broth, and dry sherry instead of brandy. I also added 2 garlic cloves as suggested. We found it to be creamy, hearty and filling with a slightly smokey flavor from the sunchokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Katonah, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I used shallots instead of onions, yogurt instead of cream and left out the brandy. A wonderfully delicate flavor, and very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States