Cream of Jerusalem Artichoke Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My wife loved it, my 7 yr old who hates soup liked it, and my 8 yr old at it without even complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this delicious soup for the first time yesterday. It was amazing! My whole family absolutely loved it! I did quadruple the recipe though, so it took a lot longer for everything to cook, of course. We added some smoke paprika. It is also pretty rich, but delicious! Oh! And I sauted the onions before I put them (saw that someone else on here did that, and thought it was a great idea...although I don't think it really made that much difference because of how you cook the potatoes and artichoke in the butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is a full safe recipe. Whether you use less butter, don't use exact amounts or decide not to blend the soup one still ends up with a delicious meal. Lovely. I considered using some macadamian nut oil and less butter but will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I omitted brandy and only used whole milk, instead of heavy cream. Some review mentioned that the taste a little bit bland, which I disagree. I really enjoy the hearty and subtle taste of Jerusalem Artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Oh my gosh was this good!! I did add some garlic to the onions, but other than that I followed the recipe as written. I wish I had more Jerusalem artichokes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe - but it came out too bland and the cooking time needs to be doubled. The artichokes came out way under cooked. I recommend cooking at low for at least 20 minutes, followed by 4 minutes, then 10 minutes at the end. This was to make sure that the Jerusalem Artichoke cooked through. Also I added spices - oregano, marjoram, thyme - which is sorely missing in this recipe. If I had known, I would have followed another recipe that included using Bay leaf. In the end I had to add way more pepper, salt, unsalted butter, and some soy sauce to get any flavor. The parsley was a nice addition and my husband thought it was fine, but I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was delicious. Though my kids weren't fans. I did add garlic to it. And put Parmesan on it at the end. It was a very homey/earthy soup. Oh and if you want more flavor or spice--red pepper is good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I used shallots instead of onions, yogurt instead of cream and left out the brandy. A wonderfully delicate flavor, and very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow, my family loved this soup. I made it less rich by using 2 tbs butter instead of 1/4 cup and whole milk instead of cream. I used vegetable broth, and dry sherry instead of brandy. I also added 2 garlic cloves as suggested. We found it to be creamy, hearty and filling with a slightly smokey flavor from the sunchokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Katonah, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Our family loves this soup! I don't use the cream, flour or brandy, but I do add garlic. We top it with shaved parmesan cheese and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States