Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Great soup from fresh tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNSUBSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cisco, Texas, USA
Living In: Itasca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I made this with about 12 tomatoes and I was shocked! It was creamy, thick and so much better than supermarket soup. My partner was delighted with it too. We ate it with french bread and cheese...who needs spoons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I think this is one of those recipes that you have to adjust according to your taste. I used more tomatoes, boiled them, removed the skins, and strained them. I added a small can of tomato sauce, some celery seed seasoning, and a touch of garlic pepper, which jazzed it up. I wanted this to be more filling, so I added a cup of cooked macaroni. My husband loved it, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
oh i love this soup very much... easy but taste real good... before i can only taste this kinda soup in restaurants, but now i learned how to make it on my own. THANK YOU...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
With some modifications this soup was THE BEST tomato soup I have EVER had in my life. I think with these modifications, people will find that "something" they thought was missing. I used 3 vine-ripened tomatoes and one large sweet or vidalia onion. I simmered the tomatoes and onion and spices like it said. Just before it was done simmering I did step 2. Before adding the mixture from the other pot, I added a large can of crushed tomatoes. Then I added the mixture of tomatoes, onions and spices. I kept adding salt and pepper to taste. Towards the end I also kept adding parmesan(sp?) cheese to taste. You can add milk and/or water to make it creamier or soupier. You might want to go ahead and add another tomato or so if you want an extra tomato taste (I mean, in the begining, when simmering, not at the end of making it! haha) The only thing I would change is I would boil the tomatoes to remove the skins prior to simmering (at one point I thought there were worms in the soup, but it was tomato skin!). Also, it would be good served with a dollop of sour cream on top. This was very yummy, I will be using it over and over!! Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
I wasn't all that impressed with this recipe. It didn't have a really intense tomato flavor. I think it would have been better with a little less milk. I, too, pureed the pulp and put it in as well, but there just wasn't enough tomato shining through. It also made a humongous mess in the kitchen. Probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This was one of the most delightful recipes I've tried with all the fresh tomatoes. Thanks a lot. Friends were quite impressed as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
It was not too bad, but not too good either. I tried it both with the pulp and without and this is a passable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We left the tomatoes and onions in. It was better and would be even better if you blended them to make it smoother. We also added a cube of chicken bouillon to it and it gave it a bit more depth to the flavor, since other people had commented that it was missing something. We liked it, and will keep the recipe around for when we have way too many tomatoes. We doubled the recipe and recommend this to everyone else. It is designed for two and you might as well make twice as much instead of having to make it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This turned out terribly. I halved the recipe and ended up with too much cream and not enough tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States