Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
this recipe was like drinking a slightly tomato flavored hot milk shake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I used 6 tomatoes from my grandpa's garden--and this soup still was very pale--and not as "tomatoey" as I would have liked. I actually ended up dumping a can of condensed tomato soup in just so my family would eat it. I may try again and add the tomato pulp rather than straining out the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Great soup from fresh tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNSUBSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cisco, Texas, USA
Living In: Itasca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I made this with about 12 tomatoes and I was shocked! It was creamy, thick and so much better than supermarket soup. My partner was delighted with it too. We ate it with french bread and cheese...who needs spoons?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I think this is one of those recipes that you have to adjust according to your taste. I used more tomatoes, boiled them, removed the skins, and strained them. I added a small can of tomato sauce, some celery seed seasoning, and a touch of garlic pepper, which jazzed it up. I wanted this to be more filling, so I added a cup of cooked macaroni. My husband loved it, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
oh i love this soup very much... easy but taste real good... before i can only taste this kinda soup in restaurants, but now i learned how to make it on my own. THANK YOU...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
With some modifications this soup was THE BEST tomato soup I have EVER had in my life. I think with these modifications, people will find that "something" they thought was missing. I used 3 vine-ripened tomatoes and one large sweet or vidalia onion. I simmered the tomatoes and onion and spices like it said. Just before it was done simmering I did step 2. Before adding the mixture from the other pot, I added a large can of crushed tomatoes. Then I added the mixture of tomatoes, onions and spices. I kept adding salt and pepper to taste. Towards the end I also kept adding parmesan(sp?) cheese to taste. You can add milk and/or water to make it creamier or soupier. You might want to go ahead and add another tomato or so if you want an extra tomato taste (I mean, in the begining, when simmering, not at the end of making it! haha) The only thing I would change is I would boil the tomatoes to remove the skins prior to simmering (at one point I thought there were worms in the soup, but it was tomato skin!). Also, it would be good served with a dollop of sour cream on top. This was very yummy, I will be using it over and over!! Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
I wasn't all that impressed with this recipe. It didn't have a really intense tomato flavor. I think it would have been better with a little less milk. I, too, pureed the pulp and put it in as well, but there just wasn't enough tomato shining through. It also made a humongous mess in the kitchen. Probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This was one of the most delightful recipes I've tried with all the fresh tomatoes. Thanks a lot. Friends were quite impressed as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States