Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was very good and so easy. I added a bay leaf to the tomatoes and onions then a little chopped basil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this soup. I did however follow some of the suggestions in the other reviews. I used 3 vine ripened tomatoes, can of crushed tomatoes, celery salt, and garlic powder. I also used half and half instead of milk; boiled the skins off; and pureed the tomato mixer in the blender. Very good recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was an ok recipe. I used yellow tomatoes from my garden. I followed the recipe and it was way too creamy! So I pureed the tomatoes and onions that was leftover from the straining and stirred that into the cream. It turned out a lot better. But I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was the worst tomato soup I have ever made. There was almost no tomato flavor whatsoever, and I used 5 fresh from the garden heirloom tomatoes! The 2 cups of milk overwhelmed them. It was so bad I didn't serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I multiplied everything by 6 to make a larger supply of this recipe. It tasted way too thick. I was looking for a tomato taste, but the roux taste was overpowering. I do like the recipe, but would put much less flour next time. I wish there was a way to give it 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Two tomatoes are definitely not enough as I added one small can of tomato soup to add some tomato taste and also make it more red to look like tomato soup. Will make it again with more tomatoes, more onion and perhaps 1 TBSP tomato paste to give it the taste I like it to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
was very good, but needed at least one more tomato. So I ended up adding the diced tomato pieces, and it worked out pretty well. Every one really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My children loved this!! Easy to make! We added a dollop of sour cream on top of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Excelente!! Added an additional can of stewed tomatoes and some shredded mozzarella, parmesan and cheddar. Had to thicken with an extra 1/2 tablespoon of flour. After a good 45 minute simmer, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States