Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I just made it and it is great!! I used tomatoes I pureed and froze last fall and added some basil cause we like it in our cream of tomato soup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I had about 2 cups of milk and two tomatoes to use up. The milk mixture does not get red, and it definitely doesn't taste good. Maybe some V8 could have saved it, I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I was drawn to this recipe because of the simple ingredients and quick prep time. However, this was not a recipe for tomato soup, but more of a recipe of tomato-flavored cream sauce or gravy. I tried modifying it by adding chicken broth. Didn't help. Terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I wasted good tomatoes and milk. I think directions should be more specific. Timed maybe. Tasted like tomato flavored milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used an infusion blender before adding the tomato mixture to the white sauce. I also reduced the milk by 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I agree with the poster that said when she added the milk this turned into a milky soup with a watered down tomato flavor. I was thankfully able to salvage the soup but I ended up throwing two cans of diced tomatoes in the food processor and adding them to the mix to do so. I would make this again but either adjust the ratios or get an immersion blender as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Needed a lot of salt and pepper to make this soup very tasty. Mine turned out peach color as well and I had used more then 2 tomatoes. I'm new at making soup so I had some flour lumps in it. Need more practice at this. Otherwise tasty soup and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
It seemed real bland. Didn't like the texture. It's missing something. My husband thought it was good. I guess I will stick to the old standby Campbell's soup in the can..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very easy an quick dinner for a rainy day, even though it was hot outside. I used 3 large garden fresh tomatoes removing the skins first and a sweet onion. Followed the directions as written. Served with grilled swiss cheese sandwiches. This was so creamy and delicious, will never buy canned cream of tomato soup again! This is a keeper in this house. Thanks for submitting, Karen Gibson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I am originally from NYC and I am real particular what I put in my stomach. This soup was absolutely delicious. I added a little more pepper to kick start my metabolism. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladee
Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States