Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Loved it with these modifications: -Use at least 3 or more large vine ripened tomatoes -Peel and core the tomatoes -Squeeze the liquid out of the tomatoes and strain most of the seeds out of the liquid -When onion is translucent puree the tomato / onion mixture -Use half and half or whole cream for the best results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Vrsansky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I just made it and it is great!! I used tomatoes I pureed and froze last fall and added some basil cause we like it in our cream of tomato soup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I had about 2 cups of milk and two tomatoes to use up. The milk mixture does not get red, and it definitely doesn't taste good. Maybe some V8 could have saved it, I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I was drawn to this recipe because of the simple ingredients and quick prep time. However, this was not a recipe for tomato soup, but more of a recipe of tomato-flavored cream sauce or gravy. I tried modifying it by adding chicken broth. Didn't help. Terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I wasted good tomatoes and milk. I think directions should be more specific. Timed maybe. Tasted like tomato flavored milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used an infusion blender before adding the tomato mixture to the white sauce. I also reduced the milk by 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I agree with the poster that said when she added the milk this turned into a milky soup with a watered down tomato flavor. I was thankfully able to salvage the soup but I ended up throwing two cans of diced tomatoes in the food processor and adding them to the mix to do so. I would make this again but either adjust the ratios or get an immersion blender as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Needed a lot of salt and pepper to make this soup very tasty. Mine turned out peach color as well and I had used more then 2 tomatoes. I'm new at making soup so I had some flour lumps in it. Need more practice at this. Otherwise tasty soup and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
It seemed real bland. Didn't like the texture. It's missing something. My husband thought it was good. I guess I will stick to the old standby Campbell's soup in the can..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very easy an quick dinner for a rainy day, even though it was hot outside. I used 3 large garden fresh tomatoes removing the skins first and a sweet onion. Followed the directions as written. Served with grilled swiss cheese sandwiches. This was so creamy and delicious, will never buy canned cream of tomato soup again! This is a keeper in this house. Thanks for submitting, Karen Gibson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States