Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Delicious. I followed the recipe, I didn't have a full 1/2 cup of sour cream, though. It didn't matter, there wasn't a drop of soup left after dinner. Even my daughter that "doesn't eat asparagus" loved it. I saved some of the heads and steamed them in the microwave to add to the soup at the end, but it wasn't really necessary (still good, though). I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReillyMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wow, I tried this, modified very little other than adding a little red pepper flakes, and this is delicious. A wonderful healthy soup. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but it was better with some parmesan thrown in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Used 1/2 cup of greek yogurt instead of sour cream because that was all I had on hand. Came out delicious. Very good recipe. It probably would have came out just as good with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Rhodes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I really liked this, though I left out the sour cream and only used half the milk. Next time, I think I'll omit the salt - I used chicken bullion cubes instead of chicken broth so I think this made it saltier than it needed to be. Very good, though - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This soup was easy, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Deeeeeeelish, just added 1/2 tsp yellowmustard seed and 1/2 dry mustard, and used chicken stock annnnnnd garlic with the onions omg crave it everday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As one reviewer mentioned to cut off the tips of the asparagus 'cuz they turn "woody". I did that and kept every thing else the same. My daughter will eat this soup. I make Bellepepper's personal flatbread to go along with it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is a Winner! Followed recipe to a 't', added leek, and used light sour cream. Delicious and simple;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM!!! First, I apologize that I'm rating this without preparing it as written, but I'm married to a vegan (culinary sad face), so I'm limited in the ingredients I can use. I'm here to tell ya', if it was this good with my modifications, I can't imagine how amazing it would be as published. Here's a list of what I changed: * Used miso soup in place of the chicken broth * Omitted black pepper (that was my choice--I detest the stuff) * Used almond milk instead of cow * Omitted sour cream * Forgot to use the lemon juice As you can see, though the modifications were rather numerous, they didn't serve to substantially chance the flavor--just save some heated marital "discussion". You'll notice I DID leave in the butter. I've learned what a vegan doesn't know won't hurt them (teehee), and it's hard to get a roux to thicken without it. With that said, this will be moving to our "family favorites" list. Couldn't get enough! The only thing I changed that I think would really make any difference in the flavor is the sour cream. I'll definitely try to remember to add a dollop to my bowl next time I make it (I got it out this time, but--like the lemon--forgot to use it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXY821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States