Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made this soup exactly by the recipe and it is OUTSTANDING! I used the white European asparagus which is more flavorful and less stringy. I will try green asparagus next time. Perfect soup to take to a holiday gathering and expect amazing comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polaann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MichelleHaga
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
tasted great and fairly easy to make! topped it off with some croutons and it was a fabulous appetizer for a rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
A great quick and easy asparagus soup. I mix it in my Ninja blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is the best Cream of Asparagus soup I've ever had. I followed his advice and followed the recipe exactly (except I didn't have any milk so I used half and half, but definitely no chocolate chips or pine cones) and it turned out fantastic. I will never use any other recipe for cream of asparagus soup again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Delicious! I used more chicken broth than the recipe calls for, adding over a cup to the pot I steamed the asparagus in, because my pot was large and the 1/2 cup in the recipe wasn't really enough to cover the bottom. I also left the lid on while steaming. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I tried using my stick blender to purée in the pot like I do with other soups, but the stringiness of the asparagus and low liquid level just didn't work. So I dumped it all into the Vitamix, and that did the job. And the soup tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is the best soup i've made to date. I actually did half asparagus and half zucchini. I can only use lactose free milk, but it was delicious regardless. I actually liked the flavor more without the sour cream. Thank u for a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious and made no changes except since I am an expat in the country of Panama and fresh asparagus is difficult to find so I used 2 cans of asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was really good. I'm trying to be a good vegetarian, so I subbed "No Chicken Base" for the chicken broth, and I used olive oil instead of butter. Other than that, I made it as written, and it was delicious. I have also made it without the milk,and also with the milk but no sour cream, and again with the sour cream, but no milk...you get the point. It was delicious every way I prepared it, so if you're vegan, you could just skip the milk and sour cream rather than subbing with non-dairy milk. I'm glad I tried this recipe. I was really surprised that so few ingredients could make such a tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Took a spoon full of chopped asparagus out before blending and added back in at the end for texture. Served with shaved Parmesan cheese and a few drops of white truffle oil. Was delicious impressed all of guests! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this for lunch today and it turned out delicious. I didn't have the stock, so I used water. It was still great. I will make this again. I may try this using Broccoli. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States