Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Probably not fair to rate because I didnt follow all directions. I was out of onion so I subbed one celery rib and a large clove of garlic for the onion. Left the lemon out....Quite nice that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I love this recipe!!!! It is soooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I used 4-5 tablespoons of Earth Balance buttery spread and 1-2 tablespoons of Lemon-flavored olive oil to sauté the asparagus and onions. Definitely, DO NOT use water, use chicken broth (I used Better Than Bouillon Low Sodium Chicken). Add the broth VERY slowly, or the soup won't thicken right. Even after that, I still only used 2 cups of milk. The soup I ended up with was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Delicious! This soup was so easy to make. I really loved the dill with the asparagus. I didn't have "tamari" so that's the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
great flavor if you love asparagus! after adding 2 cups of vegetable broth, the consistency was perfect for us, so I didn't add the milk. Next time, I'll probably use less butter, since this way makes fewer servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Found some asparagus in the frig that I forgot about for a week and wanted to use it asap. This recipe was wonderful and easy. I tweaked it a little because I like garlic. I used 2 cloves chopped and cooked it with the asparagus and onions. I was very skeptical about the tamari (soy sauce), but it gave the soup just the right added flavor. Don't be afraid to use the full 2 Tbsp. An added note: the flavor improves greatly with a longer simmer, like an additional 30-40 minutes after all the ingredients have been included. Just be sure it's simmering low. This is a rich enough soup that we had it with our favorite bread and called it a meal. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Love this soup!! Omitted the tamari as I didn't see a need for it and it turned out fantastic! Thanks for posting, I will make this many times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Too many changes required to rate this any higher than three stars. First, taking the cue from other reviewers, I reduced the amount of milk by about half. Good call. Second, I reduced the amount of tamari (by necessity I used soy sauce) to only one-third the amount called for - again, good call. Third, the soup calls for water and I'm not sure why - it contributes no flavor and only dilutes what flavor there is. I used chicken broth instead. Finally, I would have much preferred the soup pureed completely. The chunky tips almost seemed as tho' they didn't belong and added a little bitterness as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good recipe. Could use with broccoli also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was perfect! Being the first time, I chose not to use the tamari, but after the fact I could imagine being quite good in the soup. I also decided to add fresh crab, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States