Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I've been looking for and baking different coconut cakes for the past several months (including ones from FoodTV chefs) and I believe this one is the best. I did make a few minor changes, not so much in the cake but the frosting. For the cake, I separated the eggs. I added the egg yolks with the cake mix, but beat and folded in the egg whites once the entire batter was smooth. It makes for a much lighter cake. I also added a touch of coconut oil for a little more intensive coconut flavor. I baked it in three 8" cake pans. For the frosting, I used coconut extract and two tablespoons of the cream of coconut instead of the milk. I added two cups of sweetened shredded coconut to the frosting. Once it was set up (after refrigerating it overnight), I patted more coconut all over the top and sides. It turned out so beautiful that my neighbors have put in their orders. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My first Coconut Cake. I felt like I was cheating with the cake mix, but I made this as a layer cake for my mom for Christmas. It turned out AWESOME! She said it was even better the next day. I used "Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting" Submitted by Tom on this website (LOVE this icing for many, many cakes) and I added the remaining cream of coconut to it. De-Lish! Oh, by the way, cream of coconut is found in the mixed drink section of the grocery store. :o) You should try this cake, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyraBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grottoes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
People couldn't stop talking about this cake! It's so moist (especially if you pour remaining coconut milk over warm cake)... I used only 3 cups sugar for frosting, and coconut milk instead of regular. Also, added coconut extract to cake and frosting. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake was absolutely divine with these changes: 4 egg whites, beaten (instead of 3 whole eggs) causes it to rise more. for the frosting i used 4 oz cream cheese and 4 oz butter so it wasn't too sweet. I also substituted the milk for leftover cream of coconut. You can never go wrong adding a little almond extract to any recipe. I baked it in 3 8" round pans. Came out perfect! Gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
What a delicious cake! I made it for Easter and it was a hit. I just made some minor modifications--I reduced the sugar in the frosting by a cup, used almond extract instead of the vanilla and put alot more coconut on top too. I also added a little coconut to the batter too. The cream of coconut and sour cream made the cake so moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made cupcakes & they were wonderful. Followed the recipe except for adding 2 capfuls of coconut extract to the cake batter & one capful to the frosting. Had a noticeable but subtle coconutty flavor. Thsi was better than Paula Deen's coconut cake that I made last Easter...thanks! I was in a time crunch so I garnished very simply w/ a couple of jelly beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I made this as a layer cake for my 5 yr old's birthday. FABULOUS. One of the best I've made, and I've made a lot! This cake only got better after being in the refrigerator...(a great lunchbox treat). Two things to be aware of: The batter proved a bit too much volume for the pans, so a little bit spilled over. I cooled the layers and trimmed the lip that the spilling caused. After frosting, cake "settles" a teeny bit. Probably because of the oil, coconut cream, and sour cream. Since it was for my daughter, I left the top bare for a Barbie "frosting transfer", put the coconut on the sides, and added some Barbie pink and white heart sprinkles. It was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
so, so, so good!!! I made this for an office party, and they cleaned it up! Definitely not for those trying to cut back on calories, but worth every bite as a special treat. For a lighter version, instead of the frosting in the recipe, use Cool Whip Lite and stir in the shredded coconut. Also, after taking the cake out of the oven, I poked holes in it with a fork and poured the remaining cream of coconut over the top, letting it soak in thru the fork holes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Delicious! I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake and it was moist and still very light. I could not use the icing (too runny) so I made fluffy white butter cream frosting with almond and sprinkled coconut all over the middle layer, top and sides. Very pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I followed the advice to add whites later and the cake is seriously light and moist, even on day 3! While the cakes were still hot, I poked holes in it and spread on some of the remaining cream of coconut (found in the alcohol aisle at the grocery store). For the frosting, I used about 3 cups p. sugar, 6 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 butter, a little vanilla, about 1/4 cup cream of coconut, and 1/2 a container of Cool Whip. It was great! It's calling me right now---I've got to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States