Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I've been looking for and baking different coconut cakes for the past several months (including ones from FoodTV chefs) and I believe this one is the best. I did make a few minor changes, not so much in the cake but the frosting. For the cake, I separated the eggs. I added the egg yolks with the cake mix, but beat and folded in the egg whites once the entire batter was smooth. It makes for a much lighter cake. I also added a touch of coconut oil for a little more intensive coconut flavor. I baked it in three 8" cake pans. For the frosting, I used coconut extract and two tablespoons of the cream of coconut instead of the milk. I added two cups of sweetened shredded coconut to the frosting. Once it was set up (after refrigerating it overnight), I patted more coconut all over the top and sides. It turned out so beautiful that my neighbors have put in their orders. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My first Coconut Cake. I felt like I was cheating with the cake mix, but I made this as a layer cake for my mom for Christmas. It turned out AWESOME! She said it was even better the next day. I used "Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting" Submitted by Tom on this website (LOVE this icing for many, many cakes) and I added the remaining cream of coconut to it. De-Lish! Oh, by the way, cream of coconut is found in the mixed drink section of the grocery store. :o) You should try this cake, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyraBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grottoes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
People couldn't stop talking about this cake! It's so moist (especially if you pour remaining coconut milk over warm cake)... I used only 3 cups sugar for frosting, and coconut milk instead of regular. Also, added coconut extract to cake and frosting. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake was absolutely divine with these changes: 4 egg whites, beaten (instead of 3 whole eggs) causes it to rise more. for the frosting i used 4 oz cream cheese and 4 oz butter so it wasn't too sweet. I also substituted the milk for leftover cream of coconut. You can never go wrong adding a little almond extract to any recipe. I baked it in 3 8" round pans. Came out perfect! Gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
What a delicious cake! I made it for Easter and it was a hit. I just made some minor modifications--I reduced the sugar in the frosting by a cup, used almond extract instead of the vanilla and put alot more coconut on top too. I also added a little coconut to the batter too. The cream of coconut and sour cream made the cake so moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made cupcakes & they were wonderful. Followed the recipe except for adding 2 capfuls of coconut extract to the cake batter & one capful to the frosting. Had a noticeable but subtle coconutty flavor. Thsi was better than Paula Deen's coconut cake that I made last Easter...thanks! I was in a time crunch so I garnished very simply w/ a couple of jelly beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I made this as a layer cake for my 5 yr old's birthday. FABULOUS. One of the best I've made, and I've made a lot! This cake only got better after being in the refrigerator...(a great lunchbox treat). Two things to be aware of: The batter proved a bit too much volume for the pans, so a little bit spilled over. I cooled the layers and trimmed the lip that the spilling caused. After frosting, cake "settles" a teeny bit. Probably because of the oil, coconut cream, and sour cream. Since it was for my daughter, I left the top bare for a Barbie "frosting transfer", put the coconut on the sides, and added some Barbie pink and white heart sprinkles. It was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
so, so, so good!!! I made this for an office party, and they cleaned it up! Definitely not for those trying to cut back on calories, but worth every bite as a special treat. For a lighter version, instead of the frosting in the recipe, use Cool Whip Lite and stir in the shredded coconut. Also, after taking the cake out of the oven, I poked holes in it with a fork and poured the remaining cream of coconut over the top, letting it soak in thru the fork holes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Delicious! I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake and it was moist and still very light. I could not use the icing (too runny) so I made fluffy white butter cream frosting with almond and sprinkled coconut all over the middle layer, top and sides. Very pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I followed the advice to add whites later and the cake is seriously light and moist, even on day 3! While the cakes were still hot, I poked holes in it and spread on some of the remaining cream of coconut (found in the alcohol aisle at the grocery store). For the frosting, I used about 3 cups p. sugar, 6 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 butter, a little vanilla, about 1/4 cup cream of coconut, and 1/2 a container of Cool Whip. It was great! It's calling me right now---I've got to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States