Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
this cake is great, everytime i've made it everyone loved it, you would never believe it started from a box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This cake fell into a million pieces when I tried to layer it. For all of the effort it took, and for all of the shops I went to to try and find cream of coconut this recipe is NOT worth it. I didn't even get to sample the whole thing all put togewther because the cake never made it that far. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Yummmyyyy! 'Nough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I am sure it is a good recipe, but I changed some things after reading some of the reviews. What I made was great but didn't really follow the recipe. I made the cake like the recipe said but also added coconut extract to the batter. When the cake came out of the oven I poured coconut syrup on it. Also I added coconut extract to the frosting. So if you want more coconut flavor, that is what I did and it tastes like I am back in Hawaii. I hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I forgot the coconut cream so I infused evaporated milk with coconut. This cake turn out great and the icing is fabulous. I even baked it in a bundt pan. Next time I will remember the cream but was just a very forgiving recipe and tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Security

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Deliciously moist! I added 1 tablespoon of coconut flavoring to the batter and to the frosting. I also added chopped pecans to the frosting along with the coconut. I have been asked for the recipe several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This cake was delicious. It was moist, but not too crumbly. I followed the other reviews and added about a teaspoon and a hald of vanilla extract to the cake batter. I also substitued the vanilla for the coconut extract in the frosting, and I also added about 1/4 of a teaspoon of almond extract. It gave the frosting a yummy nutty coconut taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a very good cake, however, several complained the frosting was runny. I used only 4 oz. of the cheese, added 2 T. of coconut cream instead of milk and 3 cups of the sugar,(sifted) It came out perfect ! Also you can add some coconut extract if you want to. I added 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was delicious. I made it for Easter for the whole family, but ate more than half of it myself. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made cupcakes & they were wonderful. Followed the recipe except for adding 2 capfuls of coconut extract to the cake batter & one capful to the frosting. Had a noticeable but subtle coconutty flavor. Thsi was better than Paula Deen's coconut cake that I made last Easter...thanks! I was in a time crunch so I garnished very simply w/ a couple of jelly beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States